We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Mike A
Good honest budget hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Jun 2021
Cheep and cheerful. Friendly staff and OK room. A clean and well fitted out budget hotel. The location is a bit removed from the heart of the city, but an easy cab ride away. Awesome shower and bathroom set up. Gutted that bar and restaurant not open at weekends.
Date of stay: June 2021
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    $187
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Captain Cook Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $235
  • Expedia.com
3.8 km from Captain Cook Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Separate Bedroom with Super King Bed
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    $206
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Captain Cook Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outdoor pool and spa
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $182
  • Algotels
0.9 km from Captain Cook Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    $177
  • Hotels.com
1.6 km from Captain Cook Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
    $182
  • Agoda.com
5.0 km from Captain Cook Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    $177
  • Hotels.com
3.8 km from Captain Cook Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Large Salt-Water Pool
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    $231
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Captain Cook Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Beachfront View
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $150
  • Hotels.com
11.3 km from Captain Cook Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $110
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
    $110
72.6 km from Captain Cook Motor Lodge
View more hotels in Gisborne
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
62
41
15
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
62
41
15
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clean rooms handy location the main street waikanae beach motel hosts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2021 via mobile

Booked in for the night and it was really neat to see awesome friendly staff members. The room was spacious and it was nice to have a spa bath. Excellent room, clean and tidy. Definitely coming back..

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Captein59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 April 2021 via mobile

My wife and I stayed last weekend the unit we were given was a back unit small
carpet needed cleaning and was frayed the unit bathroom was very tiny the kitchen area was worse couldn't get 2 people in no mirrors bar a very small one over a very small basin a very noisy unit as the front of the unit faces a truck parking area trucks starting and moving all night the wall to the adjoining unit was so thing you could hear the people in it. Not s very enjoyable unit same price as the nicer front o as when spoke to the reception told that was it we tried to go elsewhere but no vacancies never again

Room tip: Avoid unit 16
Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank patw272
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2021

I had a relaxing and enjoyable stay. The accomodation is very convenient to the beach and walking into town. Great air con, comfy bed.
All the staff were fantastic, very friendly, super helpful and efficient. Great to deal with.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank RachelnBellam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 December 2020 via mobile

Well maintained, comfortable, popular with truckies and tradies during the week and beachgoing families on weekends. A bit noisy at night when the port is in full swing but not a huge issue.

Economy rooms miss out on a kitchenette, comfy seats, and are smaller overall, with much more compact bathrooms, but they are absolutely fine if you're not fussy and other rooms types are unavailable (although price-wise these rooms are probably no longer that competitive when the larger Superior rooms sell for only five dollars more per night).

Whoever hung the full length wall mirrors anticipated legless guests or giants would be staying...

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank westbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 October 2020

Yes,it's a busy main road and the logging trucks are very frequent..
But the size and comfort of the room was a nice surprise.
Has a popular onsite eatery & is very close to the gisborne CBD.
very large parking spaces a plus as well.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PHIL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews