We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
46
34
13
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
34
13
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews motor lodge stayed here across the road free unlimited wifi spa bath location is great two bedroom unit shower head room was clean an easy walk heat pump would definitely stay here again a great stay motel units singles walkway
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

We are road tripping through the north island with no plans and stopping when we feel like it. Called up and made a booking and arrived five minutes later. Host was great gave us information on where to eat. Motel is immaculate, bed is comfortable room has a heat pump so nice and warm. Absolutely fantastic place to stop.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kimlH2786LL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainCML, Owner at Captain Cook Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Hi, Thank you for your positive comments. Glad you enjoyed Captain Cook Motor Lodge. Hope to see you again when you do your next road trip.
Best Wishes
Annette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

The staff were really friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable and quite and were fully equipped. We used the laundry when we stayed and the facilities were clean and in good condition. The food at the restarunt was awesome. We had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: we had a back room so it was quite, with no road nose.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliftonpcra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed here while with a friend who had come up for business trip as I had never been to gisborne. The motel staff was friendly and helpful. They gave us ideas of what to go and what to see and where to eat. Very helpful. It is across the road from the beach so you can walk across the road and there’s a path you can follow along by the water. Walking distance to town.
The room was very clean and tidy. Plenty of parking space for big trailers. Spa bath didn’t really have any grunt at all so that was very disappointing. It was just a bath with some water movement
Would definitely stay there again but wouldn’t pay the extra money for the spa bath.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for a night and were very surprised by the facilities. Units were fully equipped and spotlessly clean. The staff member was absolutely lovely and super friendly. What a treat to deal with her. Over all a great experience. I would recommend this place to everyone.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank triedthat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

I made the booking in the middle of the night while not sleeping at the accommodation I was staying in. I called the Captain Cook Motor Lodge around 8am and explained that I had left my other accommodation and had no sleep, and asked if could I possibly get an early check in. The owner/manager was amazing. She made sure the room was serviced as soon as possible, and we were able to check in 4 hours early. Her communication and kindness were extremely appreciated. The room was large and very clean. The cleaning staff should be commended as there was nothing out of place. The bed was comfortable. There was a heat pump in the room, very handy on such a humid weekend. The corner spa bath was lovely. The only complaint was that the back door had a large window which needed a blind to keep the light out in the morning (although we were given a towel to help block some light and were told that blinds are coming). Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank AucklandGal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainCML, Owner at Captain Cook Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you for your comments we are glad we could accommodate you.
Regards
Annette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews