We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$179
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
$199
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Steve Mc
Wanaka, New Zealand
Dilapidated Hotel
Review of Emerald Hotel
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Jan 2023
The worst hotel in New Zealand by a mile, it is run down and is well overdue for an update, it is not suitable, I couldn't wait to leave. I regret not having read the reviews before booking, The only positive is the front desk staff were friendly and helpful , I can't understand why they are still working there.
Date of stay: January 2023
Room Tip: Do not stay here
Trip type: Travelled on business
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$204
  • Priceline
    $204
  • Hotels.com
    $206
  • Expedia.com
    $213
0.9 km from Emerald Hotel
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
$190
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $172
  • Expedia.com
    $182
0.3 km from Emerald Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$250
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $250
  • Vio.com
    $250
  • eDreams
    $250
1.2 km from Emerald Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$276
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $242
  • Expedia.com
    $248
3.3 km from Emerald Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Separate Bedroom with Super King Bed
Booking.com
$210
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $194
  • Hotels.com
    $206
1.6 km from Emerald Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$181
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $177
  • Expedia.com
    $173
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Emerald Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
Booking.com
$182
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $182
  • Vio.com
4.3 km from Emerald Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Beachfront View
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $150
10.5 km from Emerald Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$115
  • Agoda.com
13.2 km from Emerald Hotel
Booking.com
$110
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
72.1 km from Emerald Hotel
View more hotels in Gisborne
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveller rating
129
119
59
23
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
129
119
59
23
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park pool view separate bedroom reception area great room the main road receptionist river
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 357 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2023

This Hotel needs to be shutdown and someone needs to be found to invest in completely renovating it. We booked to stay 3 nights to attend a friend's birthday. The first night was successful in that we were able to access the room which on initial inspection was disappointing. There was a kettle, one tea cup (for 2 people!?), no cuttlery (at all!) and no milk in the fridge or tea/coffee facilities.
The 2nd night we returned from a night out to find that our access cards would not give us access to the hotel. The Emergency Number on the door went to Voice-mail. The Police (across the road) were unable to assist and advised us that the Hotel was required (by Law) to have someone on the premises or contactable by phone. We managed to access the Hotel by an open door that we had used earlier from the Car Park to the rear. But the access cards did not work on our door. We were unable to find anyone in the Hotel to assist us and so had to think out of the box as to where to spend the night. Sadly I am a recent Cancer patient recovering from Chemotherapy and Radiation treatment. Followed by surgery to remove my bowels and bladder. Hence a new plumbing system which requires access to Colostomy and Urostomy paraphernalia which I was unable to access as they were locked in the room. Needless to say we checked out of the Hotel the next morning having been assured that we would receive our money back. We're still waiting and you'll find that nobody answers the phone or replies to messages that have been left. BE WARNED ⚠️

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ChrisandRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2023 via mobile

NOT anywhere near a 4.5 star standard and hideously overpriced for a grotty, unkempt room. Numerous stains, hair and blood on the doona, filthy carpet, bathtub/shower broken and leaking badly onto floor, tv only working intermittently… just to name a few. I appreciate the fact that all businesses are suffering a lack of staff but surely management and proprietors should take note at the amount of very poor ratings the venue is getting. This is a very tired, sad building in dire need of maintenance and thorough cleaning. Would not recommend and will not be back.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Maryke301
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 December 2022

On arrival at reception could hear a lot of people chatting, laughing even foul language coming from front office. Got to room keycard didn’t work so had to go back down. Inside room smelt musty, not cleaned. All decor, carpet dusty as. Balcony had bird poo on it including table. Never again. Staff were friendly but looked overworked n tied.

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gracejokkkkllllkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 November 2022 via mobile

Disappointing. What was once such a lovely upmarket hotel has definitely gone down in its standards.
Ripped curtains, pigeon poo all over the balcony, a dirty duvet shoved into the wardrobe. Not the experience I was expecting . Had to park on main st as receptionist said the car park gate was broken but the next morning the day receptionist knew nothing of it.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 August 2022

The parking was terrible. Very close parks with hardly any Emerald hotel parks. Our room had no toilet paper or plates and cutlery. When we rung reception no one answered and we had to go all the way down to reception (Twice)
The room was very noisy and we had a terrible sleep due to the loud humming from the air con unit on our balcony.
Also there was no restaurant like it stated on the website and in room information booklet
I would never stay here again

Room tip: Dont go there
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dusappointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews