We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Algotels
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Tracey
Bad experience
Review of Emerald Hotel
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Aug 2022
The parking was terrible. Very close parks with hardly any Emerald hotel parks. Our room had no toilet paper or plates and cutlery. When we rung reception no one answered and we had to go all the way down to reception (Twice)
The room was very noisy and we had a terrible sleep due to the loud humming from the air con unit on our balcony.
Also there was no restaurant like it stated on the website and in room information booklet
I would never stay here again
Date of stay: August 2022
Room Tip: Dont go there
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Emerald Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Emerald Hotel
Free parking
Beachfront
HCPHGBedroom Deluxe Bed
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Emerald Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.2 km from Emerald Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Emerald Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.3 km from Emerald Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.8 km from Emerald Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
4.3 km from Emerald Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Large Salt-Water Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $244
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from Emerald Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Spa studio
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
3.4 km from Emerald Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Gisborne
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
129
119
59
23
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
129
119
59
23
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park pool view separate bedroom reception area great room the main road receptionist river
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2022 via mobile

Clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff. Check you are not booked into room 8229, very noisey as on the corner overlooking the busy main road. Log lorries start thundering through at 4.30am. Luckily our request to change rooms was able to be met so second night had a great nights sleep.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Diver764965
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2022

When first walking into the very tidy and almost shiny reception area of the Emerald Hotel I was happy that we found no need for the little bell on the reception counter, because our friendly and very well spoken receptionist was already at the counter ready to help us.

I forgot to glance at the receptionists nametag, but the impression she gave was that she had pride in her job and providing customers with an easy and friendly check in experience. She was of foreign nationality (please forgive me) and was on the check in desk at around 1:50pm on Tuesday the 11th of January, she's an asset to the business!

One of my favourite things about the stay was the complimentary parking provided by the hotel. One of my fears was having to park my vehicle outside on the road, so I was more then happy when I was guaranteed a free carpark in hotel parking building, secured with a roller door accessed by your room key! Very secure!

Myself and my travelling companion were more then happy with our room. We only paid $198 for 1 night and were very happy with our pool view, our PRIVATE balcony, our mini lounge suite and dining area and the separate bedroom with a very large bed. The very large and spacious bathroom was also very welcoming and the large mirror which ran the length of the vanity was the icing on the cake.

The hotel itself is very large and though being centrally located on the main street of Gisborne feels like your own oasis away from everything as once inside the hotel you couldn't hear the main road outside, you only had to focus on enjoying your stay!

Another highlight of my stay was having a refreshing dip in the large hotel pool on a very warm day. Though we were sharing the pool with multiple other guests, we weren't to bothered due to the large size of the pool and everyone having their own space.

Also I thought I'd note if you were planning on travelling outside the hotel for dinner, 'The River; Restaurant and Bar' is within stumbling distance (couple 100 metres) from the 24/7 entrance. So you can enjoy dinner and a few drinkies without having to worry about getting back to the hotel!

Overall very happy with my stay. Next time I stay in Gisborne I will definitely be booking the Emerald Hotel!

Room tip: definitely go for one of the suites with private balconies that overlook the pool area!
Date of stay: January 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chesiretrekkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 October 2021

Our Riverview room was spacious and clean, loved it. Reception staff were great, prices were great. The location is fantastic.the balcony was huge and comfortable. We would definitely stay there again.

Room tip: Choose lake view room, you feel like you are on holiday but are actually right in the middle of town.
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keledobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2021

We arrived on Friday afternoon and were greeted by a very cheerful staff member who checked us into our room quickly and efficiently. The room overlooked the river and had a lovely balcony outside where we could share a "cuppa" and relax. It was sundrenched and lovely. We did not eat in the hotel and we did not use the pool although the spa looked very inviting. The room was very spacious and it was well set out. The bed was comfy and there were a plethora of pillows available. The bathroom was also spacious and there was a separate bedroom with two other beds in it. The whole room was spotless and obviously very well looked after by the cleaning staff. We liked the fact there was ample supplies for coffee and tea. The office staff were very helpful as well. We loved our stay and we enjoyed the quiet room as well. We will stay again.

Date of stay: September 2021
1  Thank rosscooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2021

It seems such a shame to write this as the accomodation was great. Excellent room!
However customer service was terrible, young blonde restaurant girl who has attitude and sass, spoke down to costumers, had a face of thunder and was outright rude! She had this effect on not only myself but other people who we knew who were staying, reception staff weren’t much better, no positive smiles, quietly spoken and blunt. Breakfast was overpriced and our children had a bowl of very stale cereal and a yoghurt for $18.50! Happy to pay this price for adults but when we asked for a discounted price for children who barely ate they were very blunt and rude again. The blonde girl in the restaurant needs to go! She had a huge impact on many guests and was the worst hospitality representative iv ever seen.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank LJM2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews