We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
122
108
50
19
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
108
50
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river car park central location spa pool enormous room nick's bistro second bedroom highly recommend this hotel large bathroom lounge area two night stay loved this hotel great value for money great room lots of space stayed one night minibar
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

This hotel has probably the biggest rooms of any hotel in Gisborne but ask for a room overlooking the pool because I had a room overlooking the main street and a major intersection. It was noisy and the windows aren't double glazed because it felt like I had left the window open, the noise came straight through.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the pool
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TWgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

The hotel is well located centrally in the city with good views from some rooms of the inland water way.
The room was a good size, clean, well appointed and comfortable.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
The only negative aspect was the car parking. The car parking facility was tight and the entry and exit was the same set of ramps which was initially confusing.
Overall a good place to stay. A bistro is in the hotel. I did not use this facility due to being so close to bars and restaurants and cafes. I certainly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank IvanC4922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

Was given a family room and it was nice and spacious. Overlooked the pool. Room was clean and light. The bathroom had a wet shower. The only letdown was the low water pressure. The continental breakfast was also a let down. Choices were poor. Bread didn't look fresh.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

We stayed one night in the Emerald and after some problems trying to park (hint: drop the bags off by the lift and then park on the 2nd level if necessary as the lift doesn't go to the 2nd level and rolling heavy bags down the ramp isn't fun), we found our room and almost got lost in it - a huge bedroom/lounge with 2 sofas, built in counters for the suitcases (amazing!), a bathroom/wet room (fabulous) and then the second bedroom. I was stunned at the size and it was lovely to sit on the sofa with a coffee table to have a glass of wine. Coffee making facilities there and that's all we needed. The only drawback was the hot tub which wasn't very hot or at least in autumn, one doesn't want to be cold in a hot tub but this seems to be a problem in all the the hotels we stayed in so maybe it's normal. It is a bit of a rabbit warren but all in all, great value for money and room to swing 10 cats so bring them with you!!

Room Tip: Room facing the pool are probably quieter but we overlooked the river and were happy with the noise level and view
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PeanutWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed here. Big rooms. Plenty of space.
Car park is tight though
Kids love the glass elevator
Staff very friendly and helped us out with a map to the cemetery.
Will stay again.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank LizP1871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews