We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
NZRelievingTeacher
Christchurch, New Zealand

Great place to stay with great hosts. A home away from home

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Oct 2016
What a fantastic motel this is. The hosts are absolutely fabulous and very friendly. Nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. I stayed here for 3 nights while coming back to Gisborne to do a First Aid course. I am so glad I decided to pop in on this one to see if they had a room. I will definitely be back. Many thanks to you both for a great stay.
Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $200
  • Hotels.com
2.7 km from Travellers Inn Motel
Free parking
Beachfront
Spa studio
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $164
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Travellers Inn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $176
  • Hotels.com
2.6 km from Travellers Inn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $179
  • Hotels.com
1.5 km from Travellers Inn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Separate Bedroom with Super King Bed
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $242
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Travellers Inn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $190
  • Hotels.com
3.2 km from Travellers Inn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
HCPHGBedroom Deluxe Bed
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $219
  • Hotels.com
3.2 km from Travellers Inn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $180
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Travellers Inn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Affordable Luxury at Motel Oasis
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $248
  • Expedia.com
6.3 km from Travellers Inn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Gisborne Hotel Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $179
  • Algotels
3.1 km from Travellers Inn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Gisborne
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
10
6
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
10
6
1
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2016

For the budget minded traveler, the Traveller's Inn Motel provides you with good accommodation. We had a small kitchen, so we were able to prepared meals which helps with the travel expenses.
You also have access to a very nice gas barbeque at no extra charge.
The room was clean and the appliances all worked. They also have laundry facilities for an extra charge.
The hosts, Grant and Raewyn were very accommodating. They provided us with a lot of information about things to do in Gisborne. Grant was so nice as to drive us to the rental car office to pick up our rental.
If you do not have access to a vehicle, you are about a 20 minute walk into downtown Gisborne.

We were there in May 2016 and had no issue with obtaining accommodation. If you plan to be there between October to January, you should book well in advance

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 May 2016

A friendly welcome from a helpful owner who provided local knowledge. The accommodation was spacious, clean, comfortable and all the equipment in the lovely kitchenette worked. After several poor experiences of Motels during our tour of New Zealand, it was a pleasure to stay at this Motel. It was not the most expensive Motel we had stayed at but it was one of the best.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingdos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 April 2016

Arrived mid afternoon to fine that Grant was more than helpful. Our room was very clean and had everything you would need in it. They also have a laundry there that guest can use which was great for us as travelling around on a motor bike you can not take to many clothes. The grounds were very tidy, when we were going to go down to town to eat Grant offered to drive us. The price for our room was also good, if we are ever back in Gisborne we will be staying again. Keep up the good work Grant

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KittyK950
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 December 2015

This motel should not advertise that pets are allowed. The proprietors were very rude, and made us feel very unwelcome. Although they advertised as pet friendly and pets allowed - this was only if the dog didn't go in the room! Would not recommend to anyone.

Room tip: Avoid this motel.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Sian12015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
raewyn p, Owner at Travellers Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2015

Sian, if you had taken the time to read our pet policy on Booking.com it clearly states to advise about pet arrangements. We have had everything from cockatoos to donkeys, but, they do not stay in the rooms.... have a little thought about the next person to occupy the room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015

The location is a little far from the center of town but with a car it works. The motel is clean with large comfortable rooms. The management is friendly and helpful, very hands-on around the facility. Prices are good.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews