We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Loreen B
Wellington, New Zealand

Nice modern unit, well equipped, handy to beach and town

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Apr 2021
No view of the beach, but very close. Clean, quiet unit upstairs (book for downstairs if any mobility issues). Continental breakfast available and was quite generous. We had booked in advance and checking in was simple and welcoming. Staff very helpful.
Date of stay: April 2021
Room Tip: Choose downstairs if any mobility issues.
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicola Evans, Owner at Waikanae Beach Motel, responded to this review
Responded 9 Oct 2022
Only one of our units has a view of the beach which is disappointing but we are a walk across the road to experience the beach first hand. Im please you sound it clean as we pride ourselves with great reviews in cleanliness
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $200
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Waikanae Beach Motel
Free parking
Beachfront
HCPHGBedroom Deluxe Bed
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $219
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Waikanae Beach Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $174
  • Booking.com
0.3 km from Waikanae Beach Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $188
  • Booking.com
1.1 km from Waikanae Beach Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Gisborne Hotel Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $198
  • Algotels
1.1 km from Waikanae Beach Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Spa studio
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $182
  • Hotels.com
2.7 km from Waikanae Beach Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Separate Bedroom with Super King Bed
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $240
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Waikanae Beach Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Affordable Luxury at Motel Oasis
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $248
  • Expedia.com
4.0 km from Waikanae Beach Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $177
  • Hotels.com
3.7 km from Waikanae Beach Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $180
  • Booking.com
2.2 km from Waikanae Beach Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Gisborne
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
18
24
13
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
18
24
13
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2021

We booked for 3 nights leading up to Easter and didn't get one decent nights sleep. We had asked for an upstairs unit, as we find downstairs units get all the overhead occupant's noise, and we're both light sleepers. We weren't informed until we arrived in reception that they only had a downstairs unit available for us; even worse, it was under two upstairs units occupied by baby elephants. Why didn't they let us know when they got our booking request? As we said when we left - we could have booked into a decent Bed & Breakfast or found somewhere else to stay for $275 a night if they had let us know immediately. They just wanted our money and we got a very noisy unit, peeling paint in the shower, kitchen and walls and our parking space was taken on the last day. An expensive lesson to learn; never to book in here again. We gave it 2 stars only as it is very handy to town and the beach and the cleaner was very friendly and nice. Not enough to return though.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicola Evans, Owner at Waikanae Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2022

Booking direct would save a lot of money and we were under new management so there has been lots of improvements since you were here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2020

This is a lovely Motel across road from main beach and very close to all facilities. Our room was clean, well appointed, and quiet. The staff were wonderful and extremely helpful. We had booked in advanced as we were travelling with a small rescue dog and we had no problems checking in on our arrival.

Date of stay: November 2020
Thank Mojo1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2020

I need to qualify this by saying that we booked on line and didnt realise there was a booking fee. We arrived and asked if we could book an extra night. After humming and harring we were allocated room 16.It appears to be a converted garage. Luckily we are not very big as the bathroom is minuscule. The wardrobe, kitchen cupboards and mirror appear to have come from a 50s style house. The kitchen curtains hung over the kitchen tap.It smelt very musty as if it had not been aired or used. However it was spotless and the linen was of good quality. As there was only a frosted door and one kitchen window there was no outlook at all so we decided to move on the next day. This particular room is very poor value for money.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GranLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicola Evans, Owner at Waikanae Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2022

We were new owners in October 2020 and have since renovated this room and is better equipped now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2020 via mobile

Lovely lady and her dog run this place. Not flash, but everything you need. Beds very comfortable,would stay again,
. Very close to the beach, and an easy walk to the town centre. Why pay more? Recommended

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank HKinsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicola Evans, Owner at Waikanae Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2022

We are new owners and took over the motel in Oct 2020, our first purchases were brand new comfortable beds...and the renovations continues even through Covid holdups and issues. We hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2020 via mobile

Had a great stay here, we had a one bedroom room upstairs with a view of the sea. Great location, only have to cross the road, walk a few metres and you are at the beach, the weather was extremely hot so we went swimming twice a day. The motel was clean and tidy, the parking a little tight but overall we would definitely stay here again😀

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank Sirjack_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicola Evans, Owner at Waikanae Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2022

pleased you enjoyed the view of the sea and made good use of the beach. parking is tight but there is a parking space for every unit. We have just had the driveway tarsealed as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews