We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
MrsKelCW
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Fantastic
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Mar 2017via mobile
Absolutely lovely place to stay. Clean, tidy and comfortable. One of the nicest places we have stayed so far!!
The room was a great size and the beds were super comfy!
If you are in Gisborne and need accomodation, do yourself a favour and book a room.
Date of stay: March 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$204
  • Priceline
    $204
  • Expedia.com
    $213
  • Hotels.com
    $206
2.6 km from Colonial on Gladstone
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
$250
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $250
  • Vio.com
    $250
  • eDreams
    $250
2.4 km from Colonial on Gladstone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Separate Bedroom with Super King Bed
Booking.com
$210
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $210
  • Expedia.com
    $194
  • Hotels.com
    $206
1.4 km from Colonial on Gladstone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$276
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $276
  • Agoda.com
    $235
  • Hotels.com
    $242
6.2 km from Colonial on Gladstone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$190
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $190
  • Expedia.com
    $182
  • Hotels.com
    $187
3.1 km from Colonial on Gladstone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outdoor pool and spa
Expedia.com
$179
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $199
  • Agoda.com
    $178
  • Vio.com
    $182
3.0 km from Colonial on Gladstone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
Booking.com
$182
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $182
  • eDreams
    $182
  • Vio.com
    $182
7.3 km from Colonial on Gladstone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Beachfront View
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $150
  • Vio.com
    $150
  • eDreams
    $150
12.7 km from Colonial on Gladstone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$115
  • Agoda.com
13.0 km from Colonial on Gladstone
Booking.com
$110
  • Priceline
    $110
  • Vio.com
    $110
  • Trip.com
71.3 km from Colonial on Gladstone
View more hotels in Gisborne
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
17
8
6
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
17
8
6
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Owner was rude. Curtains don't close in the room and we caught a pervert watching my girlfriend undress through the gap in the curtains. The room was filthy with bugs in the room and on the bed. Worst place we have ever stayed at! The owners did not offer us another room or refund and were very inconsiderate. I will never stay here again!

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Lee3po
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
janice b, Owner at Colonial on Gladstone, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

This review is all lies, the person did not stay with us.
We have proof and are talking to tripadvisor to get it removed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017

The hosts are excellent, the rooms very very clean and have been updated recently. The bed was so comfortable. The only thing that spoilt the whole unit and this is not a complaint, the shower over the bath was very difficult for me to get in and out of.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PamInnes-SteveBryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
janice b, Owner at Colonial on Gladstone, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Thank you very much :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Great little place if your just needing a bed. Was a very clean and tidy studio unit. Was just there to lay our heads. Would stay there again if ever we needed a place to sleep. Great heating on a wet horrible day.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Sherryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Top marks to the owners of this establishment, who have taken over the reins after a number of years with managers in place. The refurbishment process is well under way with tasteful redecoration and very comfortable beds. Cleanliness was excellent and facilities were all one could ask for. The owners were very accommodating, changing our dates at short notice due to a family bereavement. Lovely warm welcome and a great sense of humour - always essential in a motel if you want return custom. The bathroom could do with a little modernising, but it was adequate for our needs. The room, (No. 2) was surprisingly quiet considering its proximity to the road.

Room tip: Street noise was not a problem, but the further back in the property you go, the less noise there would be from other guests' vehicles.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Murray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Very clean room with wonderfully comfortable bed. Spotless cleanliness and
very pleasant hosts and all the kitchen equipment you need - what more
could you want.
On the main road but very quiet. Didn't have breakfast but it was available
at a very good price.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews