We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Lol.travel
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Lee3po
United Kingdom
Rude Owner, Peeping Tom, Unclean with bugs in the room and on the bed
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Mar 2017
Owner was rude. Curtains don't close in the room and we caught a pervert watching my girlfriend undress through the gap in the curtains. The room was filthy with bugs in the room and on the bed. Worst place we have ever stayed at! The owners did not offer us another room or refund and were very inconsiderate. I will never stay here again!
Date of stay: February 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Spa studio
Tripadvisor
$164
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Colonial on Gladstone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$209
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.6 km from Colonial on Gladstone
Free parking
Beachfront
Separate Bedroom with Super King Bed
Tripadvisor
$200
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Colonial on Gladstone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance
Tripadvisor
$175
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.6 km from Colonial on Gladstone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$208
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $208
1.5 km from Colonial on Gladstone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$187
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.1 km from Colonial on Gladstone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Right across the road from Waikanae Beach
Tripadvisor
$195
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Colonial on Gladstone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $181
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Colonial on Gladstone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Gisborne Hotel Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    $179
  • eDreams
3.0 km from Colonial on Gladstone
Free Wifi
Free parking
HCPHGBedroom Deluxe Bed
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $218
  • Hotels.com
3.2 km from Colonial on Gladstone
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Gisborne
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
17
8
6
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
17
8
6
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2017

The hosts are excellent, the rooms very very clean and have been updated recently. The bed was so comfortable. The only thing that spoilt the whole unit and this is not a complaint, the shower over the bath was very difficult for me to get in and out of.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PamInnes-SteveBryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
janice b, Owner at Colonial on Gladstone, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Thank you very much :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Great little place if your just needing a bed. Was a very clean and tidy studio unit. Was just there to lay our heads. Would stay there again if ever we needed a place to sleep. Great heating on a wet horrible day.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Sherryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Top marks to the owners of this establishment, who have taken over the reins after a number of years with managers in place. The refurbishment process is well under way with tasteful redecoration and very comfortable beds. Cleanliness was excellent and facilities were all one could ask for. The owners were very accommodating, changing our dates at short notice due to a family bereavement. Lovely warm welcome and a great sense of humour - always essential in a motel if you want return custom. The bathroom could do with a little modernising, but it was adequate for our needs. The room, (No. 2) was surprisingly quiet considering its proximity to the road.

Room tip: Street noise was not a problem, but the further back in the property you go, the less noise there would be from other guests' vehicles.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Murray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Very clean room with wonderfully comfortable bed. Spotless cleanliness and
very pleasant hosts and all the kitchen equipment you need - what more
could you want.
On the main road but very quiet. Didn't have breakfast but it was available
at a very good price.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 February 2016

Stayed over for one night, 8 Feb 16, Advertised the most comfortable beds in Gisborne, I would say probably in New Zealand. Spotless accommodation, smelt like a breath of fresh air. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Major49
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews