We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
17
8
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
8
5
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Very clean room with wonderfully comfortable bed. Spotless cleanliness and
very pleasant hosts and all the kitchen equipment you need - what more
could you want.
On the main road but very quiet. Didn't have breakfast but it was available
at a very good price.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016

Stayed over for one night, 8 Feb 16, Advertised the most comfortable beds in Gisborne, I would say probably in New Zealand. Spotless accommodation, smelt like a breath of fresh air. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Major49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2015

Our 1st stay here was good ~ We would return again.

We stayed in Room 9.

The Bed & Pillows were very very comfortable.

The room was spotlessly clean and well appointed with Tea, Coffee and Milk, 32" wall mounted Flast Sceen TV and a table and 2 x chairs.

The room was SO quiet and also warm while outside was cool.

The only complaints were:

1) The state of the bathroom cabinet ( rotting away ) = time to be replaced.

2) No Security Chain on the front door lock. = The 2nd day I asked for it to be repaired \ repalced and it was completed within 1 hour! However I do feel management should have picked this up and done this automatically.

Close by to Petrol Stations, Take Aways and restaurants.

Made a good base while we went out looking for Real Estate to purchase.

Room Tip: Rear rooms will be the quietest ( away form the main road in to Gisborne )
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2015

We had business in Gibourne and stayed at this lovely motel again...really nice, clean and roomy units. The owners are very friendly and helpful.

The beds are extremely comfortable with lovely white cotton sheets ...beautiful white towels and even face wipes in the bathroom for removing face makeup instead of the White face cloths .

Will definetly stay here on our next visit

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank WhitiJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2015

Three of us took a unit for $140 stayed here on a Saturday night before heading to East Cape. The motel is nice except no microwave in the unit BUT its neighbor is a partyer. Sterio music went on all night and morning till 2am plus again 7am! Very very shocked. The manager lives on site upstairs, I went and knocked on the door hoping something could be done --- we need some noise control! I am sure you can't sleep either under such noise either. Sadly he is reluctant to do anything or maybe he get use to the noise already. Having less than 4 hours sleep whole night, I will not come back to this place again.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FUNDAYSNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice b, Owner at Colonial on Gladstone, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015

We have indeed had trouble with our neighbours who have had their music extremely loud and the base on high which is very invasive. The guest seems to have mis-understood our response to her query as we had already rung the Council Noise Control Service and there was little 'else' we could do.
None of this helps those guests who had little sleep that night and we apologise for that but it was out of our control.
Although it doesn't help previous guests, subsequently Noise Control have seized the stereo and the police have had a 'strong word' with them and it seems likely that our problems are at an end.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews