We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
17
8
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
8
5
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2015

We had business in Gibourne and stayed at this lovely motel again...really nice, clean and roomy units. The owners are very friendly and helpful.

The beds are extremely comfortable with lovely white cotton sheets ...beautiful white towels and even face wipes in the bathroom for removing face makeup instead of the White face cloths .

Will definetly stay here on our next visit

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank WhitiJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2015

Three of us took a unit for $140 stayed here on a Saturday night before heading to East Cape. The motel is nice except no microwave in the unit BUT its neighbor is a partyer. Sterio music went on all night and morning till 2am plus again 7am! Very very shocked. The manager lives on site upstairs, I went and knocked on the door hoping something could be done --- we need some noise control! I am sure you can't sleep either under such noise either. Sadly he is reluctant to do anything or maybe he get use to the noise already. Having less than 4 hours sleep whole night, I will not come back to this place again.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FUNDAYSNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice b, Owner at Colonial on Gladstone, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015

We have indeed had trouble with our neighbours who have had their music extremely loud and the base on high which is very invasive. The guest seems to have mis-understood our response to her query as we had already rung the Council Noise Control Service and there was little 'else' we could do.
None of this helps those guests who had little sleep that night and we apologise for that but it was out of our control.
Although it doesn't help previous guests, subsequently Noise Control have seized the stereo and the police have had a 'strong word' with them and it seems likely that our problems are at an end.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2015

We stayed here for a one night stop over after driving East Cape. It was an average unit. The mangers were friendly, but the unit was dated and had a bit of a funky smell to it. One of our single beds turned out to be a cot (that had not been mentioned upon booking). The bars of the cot fell off and we just fixed it ourselves, and then it turned out to be a decent cot.

For a New Zealand motel, it was average. If you are used to North American hotels, you may not love this one.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Rhea848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice b, Owner at Colonial on Gladstone, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015

It is disappointing to us as operators of this Motel that the first we hear of a problem is on Trip Advisor which obviously have a long term effect on our business.
We took over the Motel late last year when it was in a very rundown state and have been upgrading the units and their contents as soon as we have been able.
All the furniture (including beds) has been renewed to a high standard. Our family units are set up to take 4 people but can take 5 with the addition of a fold up bed. These guests chose to have 5 adults in one of these units. In the Trip Advisor entry, the fold up bed is referred to as a 'cot' - in New Zealand a cot is a bed with sides for a baby or preschool child and this is not what they were given. We no idea what the smell was that they referred to but it is not here now - it is hard to fix something when you are not told about it.
We apologise that the guests found their unit less than perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2014

We happened upon this motel by chance and were so impressed we came back for a second night. The owners are making huge efforts to make their guests comfortable, to the extent of helping me to wash my laundry. They allowed a late checkout and the free continental breakfast is massively convenient. The room was fresh and clean with everything that we needed. Work is ongoing to refurbish the accommodation and I'm sure that it will look amazing when they are done. (Not that it looks unappetising at the moment!!) Thank you for your wonderful hospitality and kindness.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dongbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2014

We had a great stay with the new people at this really styled motel. The units were lovely and clean, beautiful crisp white bed linen, warm checked blankets with satin bindings...breakfast was delicious. Janice and Bruce are the perfect hosts .....we will be back.
Jill and Alan

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WhitiJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews