We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
9
3
7
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
3
7
4
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2017

I stayed with friends who had booked for us but arrived separately... they were in a room and I was camping. Cheap place but definitely odd. When you check in you get a set of plates, bowls, mugs, and utensils and are expected to clean them and keep them in a locker. Since I didn't have any of my own utensils, we were scrounging for a third of everything since I wasn't given any on arrival and I couldn't find the owner to get a set. Food gets locked up, cool, and signs say that the kitchen closes at 10:30pm - but the crowd of workers there were definitely cooking well past 10:30. Everything was a mess when I came down at 5:30 the next morning and trying to find a clean table was impossible.

Bathrooms ok - not great water pressure and temperature was either HOT or COLD - no real in between.

Wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pip_sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Is definetly a good place to live or stay long, you have to feel it, is not a place for turists. Really convenient for people who works in gisborne. You can stay in your tent or room. Very cheap rate per week, big common areas, pingpong room and huge equiped kitchen.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

The price is really good, it's 21 nzd per night and you are paying 2 nzd extra for bedsheets.
The old lady, who is running the hostel is really unfriendly and weird.
The check in took me about 15 min because i had to wait for her many times.
Guests are also not allowed

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Upon arrival, the kitchen, toilets and showers were so dirty. The staff weren't as bad. Said they offer free pick up from the bus station, rang the hostel but no response from anyone. One of the worst hostel in the North Island.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ndcm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

Strange atmosphere around the place, a bit dirty. Other than that no problems. The 'flying nun' lady Who runs the place has been getting a lot of grief on this for being impolite or sarcastic. I thought she was nice, considering she is running a hostel in an old nun convent

Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
Thank stcre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews