We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
96
7
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
96
7
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews home away from home place to stay huge breakfast wonderful hosts beautiful house walking distance to town barry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2019

This was something special! We needed room for a family of six and the three rooms we booked were lovely. What we hadn't expected was the exceptional service that came with it. The Christmas breakfast was out of this world and very very special. Barry and Roz even gave us a packed hangi lunch to help is on our journey home. Truly wonderful people. We are coming back!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 434liamj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bazza026, Owner at Surf City Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2019

Thanks for the review mate it was a pleasure to host you and your family and we certainly will look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2019

It was an absolute pleasure to stay with Barry and Ros' at Surf City Lodge. Barry certainly is the Reigning Champion of breakfasts. The lodge is run as a lifestyle choice other than a money making machine, and I found this rather refreshing. Barry is a wealth of knowledge of all things Gisborne, haha, and most other subjects too. It was sad to leave... But will be back :) I recommend Surf City Lodge as your place to stay in Gisborne.

Room tip: Book early.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bazza026, Owner at Surf City Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2019

Bill we look forward to yours and Jennifers return and as promised will cook dinner this time for you. We enjoyed your stay and company all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2019 via mobile

This place is absolutely great. The owners, Rose and Barry gave their very best to make my stay perfect and it was. The room was very pretty, clean, and nicely decorated. It had all I needed and more (e.g. snacks). As mentioned before by others - the breakfast it just amazing. It's big, yummy and will keep you going for the whole day. It was also the first place where I got proper black coffee (European style black coffee and not filter coffee). In the morning, Berry helped me to plan my day and had plenty of suggestions for the area. Barry and Rose even invited me for their Sundaydinner. The dinner was absolutely perfect. I really enjoyed my time and their place and felt very comfortable.
Thanks Rose and Barry again for everything. you guys are true hospitality-rockstars.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank ZoeP855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bazza026, Owner at Surf City Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2019

No problem it was lovely to meet and host you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2019

Barry and Ros were outstanding hosts. Barry's breakfasts were amazing - with fresh seafood both mornings, alongside a full cooked breakfast - we didn't need to eat again until dinner time! Barry went out of his way to recommend things for us to see and do, they took us out for dinner one night and Barry was going to take us snorkelling another day but the weather turned bad. It was also my birthday and they went out of their way to make it special and bought me a lovely bottle of wine. Thank you so much, we will be back!!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bazza026, Owner at Surf City Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2019

Thanks for the review Jo really appreciate it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2018

Surf City Lodge is really a special place, largely due to the incredibly welcoming owners, Barry and Ros. They made everything about our stay perfect. The house is gorgeous and the rooms are comfortable and welcoming. Barry is a fabulous cook who goes all out to make his guests welcome; his breakfast is legendary. He greeted us with cold beers when we arrived, told us all about the area, he and Ros joined us for dinner at a local favorite restaurant, and Barry even got up 5am to drive us to see the sunrise at the first place it occurs each day in the world. Kiwi hospitality at its best. I was disappointed we weren't staying for longer. I will definitely return to Surf City Lodge.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bazza026, Owner at Surf City Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2018

Kathy - Thank you for your review. We had a wonderful time with you Liz Tony and Julie and agree that it was too short a visit. We hope to see you again soon. All the best for Christmas and the New Year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews