We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
90
7
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
7
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews home away from home place to stay cooked breakfast fantastic hosts talented chef in easy walking distance lovely house new zealand kiwi hospitality the kitchen barry accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2018 via mobile

A Galaxy of Stars rating for this delightful b & b and its even more wonderful warm and gracious hosts Barry & Ros. Between pick up & drop offs, tips for things to see & do, Barry was a magician in the kitchen. Scrumptious breakfast perfect for a vegetarian & lasted all day! Was also invited for a delicious dinner one night. That potato salad. Such manaakitanga! The house is charming full of heritage, large comfortable bedrooms, had a soak in the bath, beautiful grounds & a short walk to the marina, the town centre, & unbelievable beach. I highly recommend this home away from home!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank shetheadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

I've stayed at Surf City Lodge every time of been to Gisborne over the last six years. Barry & Roz are great hosts and Barry the chef primo. My stay this week again was the highlight of my working trip away. No hesitation at all in recommending Surf City Lodge as the place to stay in Gizzy!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank notsayin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

The villa is beautiful and warm. Barry and Rose are very welcoming hosts and gave me a lot of advices. Of course the breakfast is big and fantastic~Also, they gave me heater and blanket to keep me warm during very cold winter! Thanks guys. Would really recommend this b&b.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess5211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

Barry and Ros are fantastic hosts who made us feel very welcome. It was our wedding anniversary and they made us feel very special.
This was my first time at a B&B. I'm somewhat introverted and had always been put off by the idea of having to make small talk over breakfast (before coffee, even!). Barry and Ros are perfectly suited to being B&B hosts: they were, for us, the right combination of friendly and non-intrusive, with a relaxed and open manner. If all B&B operators are like them, then I'm a convert for B&B's.
As other reviewers have noted, the breakfasts are amazing. I'm sad to say that on the second day we weren't able to finish as we'd had a large dinner the night before, but Barry (the chef) didn't seem offended; breakfasts are quite large, and I think he is used to it.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnH13342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

Stayed one night only out of two. It was a catalogue of extremely poor service starting when my wife asked for more hangers for clothes. The owner was extremely rude. We did not stay the second night as it was so bad, the en-suite is a caravan in the garden with very little space. The owners parting words to my wife and I were 'you are two obnoxious poms'. Fine if he thinks that but I would beware of staying at this establishment. It was fortunate our next stay was with friends in Napier in that I was able to contact them and arrange to go to their house the next day. The attitude of the owner totally ruined our stay in Gisborne

Room tip: Beware the en-suite is a caravan in the garden with a very poor electrical supply
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank FRANCIS D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews