We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
91
7
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
7
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews home away from home place to stay cooked breakfast for dinner one night fantastic hosts talented chef in easy walking distance lovely house new zealand kiwi hospitality the kitchen barry accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

First if you book through Hotels.com or something similar/ ring or email Barry and Ross and let them know your estimated time of arrival! Next Gisborne is a great place and the best place to stay is here! We were upgraded! I did not realise how good the little summer house was!our hosts offered a digital tv and movies but an ensuite along with a wee kitchen! BEST is the breakfast ! Michelin Standard!

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank janf384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

Have stayed here multiple times and will do every time i come back to gisborne. Barry and Roz make it a pleasure to come here. It's cheaper than any motel and it's just like a home away from home.
The breakfast is better than any breakfast I've had staying away. Barry cooks a restaurant style big kiwi breakfast that always hits the spot.

Thanks Barry and Roz it's always a pleasure!

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Bhollows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016

This is such a great place to stay, Barry and Ros are such wonderful hosts, make you feel welcome and their company is heartfelt. Had a great time some years ago and aiming to go back in December. His Cooking is better than master chef...his breakfast are awesome...I've come all the way from Switzerland just to see them and enjoy Barry's breakfast treat...Just fabulous.

Room tip: all good rooms
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

We loved staying here. Our fantastic hosts Barry and Ros made us feel right at home and Barry cooked some amazing breakfasts that left us so full we didn't need any lunch. Each day's breakfast is different so make sure you stay more than one day. We stayed in the outside unit while our friends took the rooms upstairs. Very comfortable beds and shower pressure was excellent. All in all no complaints. We would definitely come here again.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank BryceN55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Great place to stay, Barry and Ros are fantastic hosts. I stayed in the unit out the back which was extremely comfortable, clean with an en-suite. Also, the breakfasts are outstanding and large! I would strongly recommend staying here if your in Gisborne.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SueN1140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews