We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sophia1573
Lovely Hostel
Review of YHA Gisborne
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Dec 2017via mobile
I stayed here for six nights over Christmas, absolutely lovely hostel with very friendly, helpful owners. The facilities were pretty clean, and the 6 bed bedroom was spacious with single beds. There's a comfy lounge area with a TV, Netflix, and DVDs, and the atmosphere was pretty relaxed and chill. Really felt at home here, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a cheap accommodation in Gisborne.
While it may be a bit far away from the bus station, it's actually pretty close to town! And there's a supermarket just across the street.
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$213
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from YHA Gisborne
Free parking
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
$183
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from YHA Gisborne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance
Tripadvisor
$169
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from YHA Gisborne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$249
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.7 km from YHA Gisborne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Separate Bedroom with Super King Bed
Tripadvisor
$194
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.2 km from YHA Gisborne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Right across the road from Waikanae Beach
Tripadvisor
$195
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.5 km from YHA Gisborne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$177
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.4 km from YHA Gisborne
Free Wifi
Free parking
HCPHGBedroom Deluxe Bed
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $219
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from YHA Gisborne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Gisborne Hotel Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    $179
  • eDreams
0.5 km from YHA Gisborne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $173
  • Priceline
2.4 km from YHA Gisborne
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Gisborne
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
22
22
13
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
22
22
13
4
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

I stayed 6 nights in the 10 share dorm. The dorm was spacious and comfortable. I have stayed in over 60 hostels in my life and never seen owners put so much love into their hostels. Their attention to detail is unparalleled. The property is super clean, the kitchen is extremely well equipped. Not one detail is overlooked. The house is so well maintained. The location is great, a few minutes walk to the city center and Kaiti Hill. I have nothing but praise for this hostel.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Ingridgig
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Panmuk-Markus-YHAGis, Manager at YHA Gisborne, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Thanks for the kind review - we're happy you chose to stay with us and glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Nice old house close to town with everything you need to make your stay a success. Talk down to the Fishing Club on the wharf and ask if you can have a meal there. They will likely say yes and with a member's support you can also have a drink. Great seafood. Now back to the YHA. Lots of different rooms from singles to dorms. Good facilities: kitchen, bathrooms, lounge, off street parking and nice friendly managers.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Panmuk-Markus-YHAGis, Manager at YHA Gisborne, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Thanks for the kind review - glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

I needed a place close to the CBD and decided to trust the YHA.

I asked for a single private bedroom and was very pleased when I found a double bed and sofa (room 1)!

Room was well thought-out, kitchen was large enough and showers/toilets had good water pressure and enough in number. However, the living-room was small and there was a small table area that was possibly the 'dining table'. Netflix was available; you get 200 MB of internet free per day before you start paying.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProudasJAFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Panmuk-Markus-YHAGis, Owner at YHA Gisborne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for your response - we value your feedback. Yes - the building is a bit "cozy" at times. There is a nice deck out front for eating but the living room can get crowded at peak times in cold or rainy weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

This is really great hostel. The staff and the owner are very friendly and helpful. There is a big kitchen with very good equipment. The livingroom is very cozy, there are many movies you can chose from and watch, some board games and books. Everything is clean.

Date of stay: May 2017
Thank Michaela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 April 2017

So having stayed in a few YHA hostels both in New Zealand and Australia, I must say I was disappointed with this hostel. This hostel is not in the city - it is a good 20 minute walk from the bus stop which is not easy when you have your backpack and other bags to carry. It is not run well - the owners are knowledge but not very friendly or helpful. It is not big hostel. My room was next to the door which was constantly opening and banging shut with people going up and down. To do laundry I had to wait until 3pm so the owner can wash bedding for the hostel. Not easy to make friends, when I was there, there were quite a few long term stayers who tended to keep themselves only to other long term stayers. Finally there is no free wifi
Yes it is clean hostel and yes there are few bunk beds. The lounge area is good and the kitchen is well equipped. I wouldn't stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank blot17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews