We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Helie1992
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Not amazing...
Review of YHA Gisborne
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Jul 2016
Stayed here and wasn't overly impressed. I should have chosen another hostel. As a YHA member I thought I was being sensible by staying here. It's a little way out of town and a bit of a walk from the i-Site. The rooms were average, bathroom wasn't great and the wifi signal would only stretch to the lounge - not great when you want to call home and there is a group of people watching tv.
Date of stay: May 2016Trip type: Travelled solo
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$204
  • Priceline
    $204
  • Expedia.com
    $213
  • Hotels.com
    $206
1.2 km from YHA Gisborne
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
$190
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $190
  • Vio.com
    $170
  • Expedia.com
    $182
0.5 km from YHA Gisborne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$276
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $276
  • Agoda.com
    $235
  • Hotels.com
    $242
2.7 km from YHA Gisborne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$250
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $250
  • Vio.com
    $250
  • eDreams
    $250
1.6 km from YHA Gisborne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Gisborne Hotel Pool
Expedia.com
$179
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $199
  • Vio.com
    $181
  • Agoda.com
    $178
0.5 km from YHA Gisborne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Separate Bedroom with Super King Bed
Booking.com
$210
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $210
  • Agoda.com
    $185
  • Hotels.com
    $206
2.2 km from YHA Gisborne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
Booking.com
$182
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $182
  • Vio.com
    $182
  • eDreams
    $182
3.8 km from YHA Gisborne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Beachfront View
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $150
  • Vio.com
    $150
  • eDreams
    $150
10.1 km from YHA Gisborne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$115
  • Agoda.com
13.2 km from YHA Gisborne
Booking.com
$110
  • Priceline
    $110
  • Vio.com
    $110
  • Trip.com
72.2 km from YHA Gisborne
View more hotels in Gisborne
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
22
22
13
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
22
22
13
4
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2016

There is not much choice of hostels in Gisborne, but definitely would recommend the YHA. It is very quiet if you want to just relax in piece for a day or two. Rooms are spacious and clean, same goes for the bathrooms. Very well equipped and large kitchen. Cozy living room area with tv and free choice of dvds. Nice outside area with lawn (only downside here is the loud street right next to it). Very friendly and helpful staff. Free WiFi included (with limited data though and poor reception in rooms, good in common areas though). About 10 minute walk to beach or downtown. Parking available.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurietravels2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2016

Lovely couple who run it, well looked after, clean kitchen and bathrooms, great to common room, nice spacious clean rooms, bikes for $5 - $15. Location is just over the bridge near kitai hill walk, only 15 to beach. Free 100mb wifi per day $2 per Gb after.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rachel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 January 2016

Well, there's not much to say. I stayed there one night in a double room and had the next day approximately 20 bites all over my body. Wasn't a nice experience and I didn't expect this to happen in New Zealand.
This happened in August 2015 so I' don't know whether or not the owner did something against this problem.

Date of stay: August 2015
Thank Tom_Expeditom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2016

New owners are kind and friendly. It is 10 min walking distance from city centre. Balcony and other facilities are nice and clean. Kitchen is handy. Even at the summer time, the room was a bit cold at night. It can be freezing in winter.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cuneyt360
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 November 2015

Great place, under new (as of Nov 2015). New owners are kind and friendly and the place is neat and clean. I have to make this up to two hundred characters and im not feeling it so this is filllerrr...

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andy666699
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews