We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Belen F
Auckland Central, New Zealand

Really cold and quite. Better if you go in the summer

Review of YHA Gisborne
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Sept 2015
We stayed 2 night on august. We freezed ourselves we dindt took a shower because the place was cold as the north pole. No lockers in the room.The place is really clean, the kitchen is big and its really close to the centre.

Cons-
-Clive (the owner) is really rude and not a nice man.
- Cold as hell (they leave all the windows open and didnt use heat)
- bathroom outside
- no wifi (5 dollars per day if u want)
- no lockers :(

Pros
- really clean
- big kitchen a lot of pans/bowls/cups/stoves
- parking space for the car
- 5 min to cbd
- free tea, sugar and salt
- linnen provide

its a place to spend the night
Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
HCPHGBedroom Deluxe Bed
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $219
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from YHA Gisborne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $176
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from YHA Gisborne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Affordable Luxury at Motel Oasis
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $241
  • Hotels.com
2.7 km from YHA Gisborne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Gisborne Hotel Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $199
  • Algotels
0.5 km from YHA Gisborne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $178
  • Hotels.com
2.4 km from YHA Gisborne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Separate Bedroom with Super King Bed
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $241
  • Hotels.com
2.2 km from YHA Gisborne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Spa studio
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $182
  • Hotels.com
3.9 km from YHA Gisborne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $180
  • Hotels.com
3.3 km from YHA Gisborne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Right across the road from Waikanae Beach
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $195
  • Hotels.com
1.5 km from YHA Gisborne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $178
  • Hotels.com
4.4 km from YHA Gisborne
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Gisborne
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
22
22
13
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
22
22
13
4
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2015

We stay one night in this backpacker and it was a great experience. Room a large and clean (dorms of 5). Facilities well maintained, even if the shower box was a little bit small. We check late and leave early on the morning and the staff was very friendly. good localisation, not too far from city center

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camille22bz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 July 2015

This was a lovely hostel to visit, nice showers, good pressure, compfy beds, nice size TV room, helpful staff and an average size kitchen. Designed not to take huge amounts of people which a I think is good. Close to town centre.

Enjoy!

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LUKE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 May 2015

I had planned to stay there a night, but kept extending my stay (and could have stayed even longer). Slept like a baby, very clean and tidy place, lovely and helpful hosts. Since it was low season, it was not very busy, so the evenings in front of the tv at the heated living room felt cozy and home-like.
Close to the town centre, few minutes drive from good surf spots. Why did I even leave...?

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ruti-Tuti-Fruti
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 April 2015

Our room in the yha was one of the nicest we have stayed in for a while, spacious with comfy beds and plenty of natural light.
The staff were lovely and we sat out on the deck to watch the famous gisborne sunrise.

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank LMcKArgyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2015 via mobile

The YHA Gisborne is located 10-min walk to city center, 5-min walk to modern strip of restaurants and bars (including Gisborne Wine Centre) and walking distance to Saturday Farmers Market. We have booked a single and a double room. Both were small, cold (23 degrees outside) smelled musty and had mould on the window-side of the curtains. Although the sheets were washed, the pillows, blankets and bed had a moldy smell as well. There were only two showers for women which is clearly not enough. Both were dirty at 7:00am in the morning - one of them full of black sand/soil. The hostel needs a proper regular cleaning process as well as insulation and mould removal!

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank JoannaInAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews