We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
118
43
15
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
118
43
15
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road private patio hot spa bedroom apartment beautiful place to stay motor lodge regular basis no fuss short walk great shower a great stay business trip full kitchen ruth units motel accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2018

A week in Gisborne on holiday. I've stayed there before and still it meets every expectation. Priced to reflect winter so very economical. Everything was perfect. Parking right outside my door. Lovely obliging staff. The furnishings and carpet have been updated since my last visit. Luxurious and very tasteful.
Highly recommend

Room tip: All rooms with a private patio
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeR37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanBeachMotorLodge, General Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us at Ocean Beach. Your feedback is very helpful to potential guests wanting to stay with us.
Do come again.

Best regards
Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

What a beautiful place to stay and poppy our Irish setter was welcome too.
You don’t find many pet friendly motels so nice and the owners were delightful.
Close to beach to walk the puppy. Amazing night sleep and a great shower too.
This place is so under rated.
Give it a go, value for money top notch and happy to pay extra cleaning for our puppy.
Wish everyone well.
Thank you for a great stay.
Des Kim, Poppy and my dear mum.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 574englishc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanBeachMotorLodge, General Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

So lovely to have you stay. You are welcome any time.
Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Best regards
Ruth and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

Fabulous location, great service, and beautifully clean units. Spacious units, perfect for our family stay (mum, two toddlers, plus granny and grandad). Only a hop to the beach. We loved it. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AnnaBananaNZ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanBeachMotorLodge, General Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay. Your little tots are just gorgeous. So nice for you to have a break at the beach from your busy job. Do come again soon, you will be very welcome.

Very best regards
Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

I recently stayed at Oceanbeach Motor Lodge, on waking I leaned across to look out of the blinds and inadvertently knocked a glass of water over the clock radio which killed it.
On checking out I told Ruth what had happened and asked if they could let me know what the replacement cost was. Ruth was very pleasant and would not charge me for the radio which I am grateful for.

Lovely stay there, nice and quiet, beautiful Pizza from across the road.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GlenY62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanBeachMotorLodge, General Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Hi Glen
It was a pleasure to have you stay. The clock dried out and is just fine.
Look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards
Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

it's not lush, it's basic, but the bed is very comfortable and if your bedroom is at the back of the hotel, it's also very quiet. we enjoyed reception guys: very friendly and no fuss. all straight forward. yep... you can sleep in the James Cook (oh gosh!) room with a spa right next to your bed. the room was very spacious and clean. the bathroom big and with a strange set up (bathroom flooded after a shower, so you need flip flops if you have to go to the toilet afterwards).
Overall, it's fine for a few days super close to one of the best beaches in NZ. thank you.

Room tip: rooms at the back are quieter
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satori99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanBeachMotorLodge, General Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Your review is appreciated. So happy you thought the bed was very comfortable and the suite nice and quiet. Do come again as you will be most welcome.
Enjoy the rest of summer.
Best regards
Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews