We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
146
54
14
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
54
14
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wainui beach spa bath labour weekend swimming pool air conditioning couple of nights a great stay short drive the main road family unit great room place to stay spacious room two nights friendly service stayed one night new zealand
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Oasis Motel is one of the nicest motels I've every stayed at. we were here for 3 nights and loved every minute of it. Modern spacious rooms with air conditioning and large bathrooms. The bed was a tad on the small and soft though.

The solar heated swimming pool was wonderful and immaculately clean. Unlimited free Wifi was a bonus, as was the wide range of Sky TV channels available.

We hadn't realised that the kitchenette in the room didn't have a sink, but were able to use the bathroom so not a biggie really.

The service from owners Kate and Hamish was exemplary. They have great local knowledge and are always willing to have a chat. We enjoyed ourselves so much that it felt like we were staying with friends.

A great value stay. I thoroughly recommend Oasis Motel to anyone and everyone.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SB_Sheppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elgreko69, Manager at Motel Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2015

Hi SB_Sheppard
Thank you so much for a wonderful review of Motel Oasis! Very high praise being ‘one of the nicest motels you’ve stayed at’, we are so happy about that! You will be pleased to know that we are presently upgrading all our beds and do have one that would suit you perfectly next time you stay – a firm King Size bed – we will be happy to make sure you get that next time!
Thank you for mentioning the great value – that is a very high priority for us and we are so glad you found that here.
It was an absolute pleasure to host you both, and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Gizzy!
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2015

We stayed here over christmas 2013. They had everything you would need for a family of 5. They kids went back and forth to the office choosing playstation 2 games. Between that and the pool the kids were happy. The service here was great would definitely stay here again. So close to the beach and not far from town. Rooms were clean and tidy. They had bikes to ride and a whole lot of other outdoor activities for families.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrewN84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elgreko69, Manager at Motel Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2015

Hi DrewN84
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Motel Oasis. We are delighted you found we had everything needed for your family and that the kids enjoyed the pool, bikes and games. We have no doubt had a few changes and improvements since your last stay so would love to share those with you on your next family holiday!
Thanks again.
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2015

What a great place to stay, very warm and inviting. The staff are so friendly and helpful. On arrival we were greeted by Kate and Hamish who made us feel very welcome and were very informative about the sights of Gisborne, We had been travelling all day and I was so pleased when I found out we could order a home cooked meal to have in our room.
the food was well above our expectations. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. The solar heated lap pool was great. We would highly recommend Motel Oasis and will definately stay there again. Rob & Lisa

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elgreko69, Manager at Motel Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Hi Lisa & Rob
Thank you so much for a wonderful review of Motel Oasis! We are delighted you had an excellent Gisborne experience and that we contributed to that! We are so pleased you felt warmly welcomed and enjoyed your meal after your long journey. It was an absolute pleasure to host you both - we look forward to doing so again the next time you are in Gizzy.
Thanks again.
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2015

We were warmly greeted on arrival and provided with a complimentary glass of red wine which was appreciated after a long day of driving. Our unit was clean & spacious, particularly the bathroom and was serviced every day. We were able to use laundry facilities free of charge. Would suggest a larger plunger coffee pot. Loved the fact that location was out of town only few minutes drive. Owners welcome kids and pets. Owners provide great service. Thanks very much for your efforts.

Room tip: All rooms on ground level.
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Deb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elgreko69, Manager at Motel Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2015

Hi Deb
Thank you very much for a great review of Motel Oasis. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure to host you and would love to do so again if you get over to Gisborne in the future. Happy travels to you both!
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2015

The Oasis Motel is about 5 minutes drive from the centre of Gisborne on the Northern outskirts of the town. We two stayed here for two nights in March 2015 and were struck by the friendly and very helpful welcome, including several telephone calls to find us a late restaurant.
Our studio apartment was very well furnished in modern style, including a Playstation and large TV aimed at the bed - no sofa, but table and two comfortable dining chairs. There is a capsule coffee machine with two complimentary capsules, as well as the usual tea, coffee and chocolate sachets. Extra capsules can be purchased at reception, where they also have a huge library of DVDs. The bathroom includes a two-person spa bath (works well) with shower over. All better than average in this price bracket.
Wifi (complimentary) was stronger and faster than we have experienced anywhere - even at home!

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elgreko69, Manager at Motel Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2015

Hi Mike
Thank you so much for a wonderful review of Motel Oasis! We are so pleased you enjoyed your time here with us and it is very gratifying to know our efforts make the difference to you, our guests. We are very happy you found what we have to offer ‘better than average in this price bracket’. It is one of our highest priorities to be providing exactly that, so thank you very much.
It would be a real pleasure to host you again if you are back in Gisborne!
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews