We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
146
54
14
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
54
14
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wainui beach spa bath labour weekend swimming pool air conditioning couple of nights a great stay short drive the main road family unit great room place to stay spacious room two nights friendly service stayed one night new zealand
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2015

From the ease of booking and excellent communication this was a good experience. The motel was clean, tidy and we appreciated the effort the owners had gone to in decorating the room. The wifi was quick, the communal table was well received and certainly enjoyed the stay

Date of stay: February 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank BigFella15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elgreko69, Manager at Motel Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2015

Hi BigFella15
Thank you very much for your review of Motel Oasis. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and appreciated the decorating of your room. We love the ‘beachy’ feel ourselves and think it adds to ones sense of relaxation. :)
We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and it was a pleasure to host you. We hope to do so again if you are back in Gisborne!
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2015

This Motel is overpriced in my opinion. It cost 99$ for one night in a room, that didn't even have a kitchen. We often payed less for the same kind of room (double or twin beds, TV, ensuite Bathroom) but also got a Kitchen with a stove etc. It was nice to have a lot of DVDs to choose from although 3 of 4 Play Station controllers, which were necesary to play the DVDs were not working. The bathroom was clean but looked like one of a hospital, so it wasn't very attractive. Gisborne itself is nice with a lot of very nice walks around. This Motel is outside town, so you definetly need a car to get anywhere.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lisag2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elgreko69, Manager at Motel Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Hi Lisa G
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear you did not find value for your $99. Value is a very high priority for us here at Motel Oasis and that is why we do not charge for anything extra, like the free bicycle hire, free laundry facilities, free movie hire, or free play station games. We also find most of our guests appreciate that all of our rooms are air conditioned and also enjoy our heated pool, all for what we think is a very reasonable tariff. If a kitchen is your requirement, we certainly do have rooms available with kitchen facilities, also at a great tariff. Our location is indeed a highlight for many with our two beautiful beaches right on our doorstep and a 2-3 min drive or 15min cycle to town is often viewed a big plus.
We apologise for the inconvenience regarding the controllers – when the Playstation is in DVD playing mode, only one of the controllers is operational. We are always on hand to help if there is a problem.
We appreciate your positive comment about your clean bathroom and thank you for that.
We wish you well for 2015 and your future travels.
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2015

Great accommodation, sparkling clean and heated pool and well appointed rooms.
Not only that, but at the end of a long day travelling the in room dinner was absolutely brilliant. Nicely homecooked, a dessert and a wine.
Recommendations for local activities and just good quality kiwi service.

Will be back.
Thanks

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GnRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elgreko69, Manager at Motel Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2015

Hi guys
Thank you very much for a lovely review! We are delighted you found Motel
Oasis met all expectations and you enjoyed the room and pool. Also very
happy you enjoyed your dinner - it is a pleasure to be able to provide weary
travellers with a good home cooked meal when required!
Happy Anniversary to you both - and maybe we will see you again for next
year's Anniversary Trip! :)
Best wishes
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2015

Excellent accomodation for children. Located near to a beautiful beach. Very clean. Heap of space outside the motel for kids to run around. Heap of car parking spaces. Free games, scooters for children to keep them occupied. The swimming pool is very nice. Keep up the excellent service!!!

Date of stay: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sosaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elgreko69, Manager at Motel Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2015

Hi Sosaia
Thank you so much for your great review! We are so pleased the children had
lots to entertain themselves with, and we must say, your children were
lovely! It was a pleasure to see them so happily playing together. And by
the way, thank you for the little gift your son brought us on your last
morning! :)
We wish you all the very best for a wonderful 2015 and hope to see you all
again.
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2015

Just Checked in into this lovely Motel. The room is comfortable clean and the location is quiet. The staff is very friendly and very hospitable. The lady at check-in was very nice, Provided us all information we need. The room had everything we need a TV, Aircon, and PlayStation...Yes a PlayStation...What else you need. Free laundry, free internet, free use of bikes. Inroom Spa.
Just Wonderful.
Cheers..

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Neil_Phore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elgreko69, Manager at Motel Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2015

Hi Neil
Thanks so much for your lovely review! We are so happy you had a wonderful stay and felt we provided everything you needed.
Thank you also for your kind comments to me the following morning – you know how to make a motelier’s day! :)
If you are both back for business sometime we would love to see you, and if not for business, then come on back to Gizzy for a holiday!
Take care and best wishes for a wonderful 2015.
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews