We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
$250
Fully refundable before Thu, 18 Apr
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
101
45
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
101
45
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews upstairs room waikanae beach small balcony boardwalk hosts motel kitchen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2020 via mobile

Dropped into Gisborne on a road trip around the North Island. Blew a tyre inbound so had to extend my stay here to two nights - very glad I did.

Room had been recently renovated. Bright and airy very nicely appointed. Bookmarked at both ends with floor to ceiling windows and ranchslider. One end looks out over balcony to unobstructed view to boardwalk & beach.

Clever design - bedroom on entry then access to lounge and balcony through bathroom on the left or kitchen on right.

Oven, hot plates, microwave and fridge - all new.

Short & pleasant walk into town and beach & boardwalk just outside

Judith at front desk was very accommodating - on hearing I was without a vehicle - even offered me her car to get dinner on first night after a long day!

This place is great - highly recommended

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank andrewcX4295LO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 March 2020 via mobile

Excellent room with a very recent upgrade. The new finishers are trendy and fresh. This is the best motel we stayed in during our East Coast road trip.
We took a ground floor room , the fist floor rooms have a better Seaview but the balcony’s are not big.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank philipfD6623UM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2020 via mobile

We always stay here when visiting Gisborne. A modest motel with a fab beach front location. Spacious and fully equipped although a tad dated. Bbq facility. Only a 20 minute walk into town and wharf whilst similarly in the opposite direction to the eclectic and wonderful Smash Palace pub.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Torbayaotearoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 February 2020

We stayed for 2 nights in an upper level unit with a balcony. We loved sitting there and enjoying our morning coffee or lunch and just taking in the view.

We arrived during a hot spell and appreciated the standing fan to help keep us cool while we slept.

Very interesting use of space with walk through kitchenette and walk through bathroom. Kitchen well equipped though we only had light meals while there so did not use the stove, or the BBQ.

Excellent beach right at the property, one minute and you are playing in the waves.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lonesum B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Judith A M, Owner at Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2020

Thanks for your great review we really appreciate the feedback
thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2020 via mobile

We stayed in unit 3which has been renovated. We loved it. Bed,linen was wonderful and location on the beach front fabulous. Spotless,modern unit maybe a bit small for four adults but perfect for a couple. The board walk to us was an added bonus. Would definitely stay here again probably nicest motel we have stayed in for along time.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DavidMcI2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Judith A M, Owner at Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2020

Thanks for your review glad it means alot to us
to get such positive feed back
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews