We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$242
Fully refundable before Fri, 7 Jun
No prepayment needed
Hotels.com
$230
Fully refundable before Sat, 8 Jun
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
$208
Fully refundable before Sat, 8 Jun
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
hinau
Auckland, New Zealand

Good location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Mar 2021via mobile
Well located, we walked for most meals and the Saturday market
Enjoyed watching all the canoes on the river. Upstairs would be best
Clean and tidy. A few more mugs and cups would be helpful.
Parking would be tight if fully booked.
Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$230
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $230
  • Vio.com
    $230
  • eDreams
    $230
1.1 km from Senator Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
HCPHGBedroom Deluxe Bed
Booking.com
$219
  • Expedia.com
    $216
  • Agoda.com
    $212
  • Priceline
    $219
0.2 km from Senator Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Affordable Luxury at Motel Oasis
Booking.com
$276
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $244
  • Agoda.com
    $237
  • Expedia.com
    $248
3.1 km from Senator Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Gisborne Hotel Pool
Hotels.com
$199
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $179
  • Agoda.com
    $172
  • ZenHotels.com
    $179
0.2 km from Senator Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$178
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $178
  • Hotels.com
    $178
  • Priceline
    $179
4.1 km from Senator Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
Booking.com
$182
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $182
  • Vio.com
    $182
  • eDreams
    $182
4.3 km from Senator Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$180
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $180
  • Hotels.com
    $180
  • Priceline
    $180
2.9 km from Senator Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Beachfront View
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $150
  • Vio.com
    $150
  • eDreams
    $150
10.6 km from Senator Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$115
  • Agoda.com
13.0 km from Senator Motor Inn
Booking.com
$110
  • Priceline
    $110
  • Vio.com
    $110
  • Lol.travel
72.3 km from Senator Motor Inn
View more hotels in Gisborne
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
165
71
9
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
165
71
9
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location within walking distance appointed rooms centre of town karen harbour bath units roomy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2021

Warm greeting set the mood. Nothing was too difficult for the hosts(they happened to be the relief hosts) . Accommodation 5/5 for cleanliness. Well appointed rooms and fantastic location. Great views across the river. Parking outside the door. We will definitely stay here again. .

Date of stay: March 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bev V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2021

Loved looking out over the river, very spacious and our own seating on the deck, Minutes walk to excellent restaurants. We were upstairs in unit 9 which i on the corner and right by the stairs. Ussco restaurant which the Inn recommended was stunning. Superb food , great staff we loved it.

Date of stay: March 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sainty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2021

Well modernised, Clean and comfortable. Great location and close to all amenities,(shops restaurants and cafes.
Excellent hosts, very friendly and helpful .Very enjoyable stay . Would use again and highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mcrn2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2021

Lovely motel nice rooms except for the motel persons. We were witness to a very unfriendly situation involving some other persons staying in the complex were the motel managers having a go at the people they were outside sitting in the motel table and chairs this was at 6.30-7pm they were having a few drinks laughing and joking and just enjoying them selves doing nothing wrong the motel women was going off about the noise it wasn't upsetting anyone else it was totally wrong and inappropriate. We later heard the next morning they went into one of the rooms a 11 pm when they got home from been out for dinner the husband and wife motel owners were yelling and swearing saying they were going to kick them out we heard nothing and couldn't believe the carry on. So totally sad to see and hear. I asked other persons staying with us they said the same heard nothing. Owner lady was a real cow. Sorry to post this as its a great place handy and clean but inappropriate behaviour from owners. Sad

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hayjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Kingsbeer, General Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2021

When we have numerous calls from upset guests, not only from our motel but from the Motel next door it is our duty as Motel Managers or Relief Managers to deal with this problem as quickly as possible regardless of the time day or night. In our compendium it clearly states that we expect all guests to respect others and excessive noise will not be tolerated. Multiple opportunities were given to lower the noise level and for you to choose to respect all of our guests. This was not taken.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2021

Lovely big studio units. Very quiet and lovely clean units. Great views and walking distance to town and restaurants. Second stay here and will definitely go back. Love Gisborne. Thank you Karen see you again

Date of stay: January 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SueKerryCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews