We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Margaret

Inappropriate behaviour

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Feb 2021
Lovely motel nice rooms except for the motel persons. We were witness to a very unfriendly situation involving some other persons staying in the complex were the motel managers having a go at the people they were outside sitting in the motel table and chairs this was at 6.30-7pm they were having a few drinks laughing and joking and just enjoying them selves doing nothing wrong the motel women was going off about the noise it wasn't upsetting anyone else it was totally wrong and inappropriate. We later heard the next morning they went into one of the rooms a 11 pm when they got home from been out for dinner the husband and wife motel owners were yelling and swearing saying they were going to kick them out we heard nothing and couldn't believe the carry on. So totally sad to see and hear. I asked other persons staying with us they said the same heard nothing. Owner lady was a real cow. Sorry to post this as its a great place handy and clean but inappropriate behaviour from owners. Sad
Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Kingsbeer, General Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review
Responded 8 Feb 2021
When we have numerous calls from upset guests, not only from our motel but from the Motel next door it is our duty as Motel Managers or Relief Managers to deal with this problem as quickly as possible regardless of the time day or night. In our compendium it clearly states that we expect all guests to respect others and excessive noise will not be tolerated. Multiple opportunities were given to lower the noise level and for you to choose to respect all of our guests. This was not taken.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$190
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $190
  • Agoda.com
    $173
  • Expedia.com
    $176
0.1 km from Senator Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
HCPHGBedroom Deluxe Bed
$219
  • Expedia.com
    $219
  • Priceline
    $219
  • Hotels.com
    $219
0.2 km from Senator Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$240
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $240
  • Vio.com
    $240
  • eDreams
    $240
1.1 km from Senator Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Gisborne Hotel Pool
$199
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $199
  • Agoda.com
    $164
  • ZenHotels.com
    $198
0.2 km from Senator Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance
$176
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $176
  • ZenHotels.com
    $173
  • Expedia.com
    $176
0.8 km from Senator Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
$182
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $182
  • Vio.com
    $182
  • eDreams
    $182
4.3 km from Senator Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$180
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $180
  • Priceline
    $180
  • Hotels.com
    $180
2.9 km from Senator Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Beachfront View
$135
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
    $150
  • eDreams
    $135
10.6 km from Senator Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$135
  • Agoda.com
13.0 km from Senator Motor Inn
$110
  • Priceline
    $110
  • Trip.com
    $108
  • Vio.com
    $108
72.3 km from Senator Motor Inn
View more hotels in Gisborne
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
165
71
9
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
165
71
9
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location within walking distance appointed rooms centre of town karen harbour bath units roomy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2021

Lovely big studio units. Very quiet and lovely clean units. Great views and walking distance to town and restaurants. Second stay here and will definitely go back. Love Gisborne. Thank you Karen see you again

Date of stay: January 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SueKerryCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 December 2020

We were very pleased with the Senator. The room was spacious, clean, and modern. The deck had a very nice view over the marina. It was close to everything, including an excellent cafe, 'The Flagship', just 40m away. The separate bedroom was unusual, a windowless room near the entrance, but worked well for us by keeping the room dark for sleeping, and leaving the living area spacious with a wide outlook.

Date of stay: December 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dons0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 December 2020

Friendly, welcoming and helpful ladies. We enjoyed our two night stay but found the downstairs room beside the street quite noisy without double glazed windows. Room and bed was comfortable. Well located for an easy walk to city and the Boardwalk around the city waterfront.

Date of stay: November 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank F1425BUkevinw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 December 2020 via mobile

While these units are a little dated, that's more than made up for by their spaucious layout and cleanliness. The units all face east with a nice view across the marina. The upstairs units are best as the downstairs units adjoin the street. There is a little kitchen with a microwave and tea, coffee facilities. The TV is on the small size but offers a range of channels, including Sky Sport. There are good restaurants within easy walking distance and a nice walkway to the beach, so the location is very good. We would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank StheG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2020

Fantastic spotless room with a water view and a very helpful and friendly front desk. Front desk was helpful in ordering me a taxi to airport. I would stay here again next time in Gisborne. Located next to all the bars and restaurants on the wharf as well.

Date of stay: November 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank miles833
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews