We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Don S
Mission Bay, New Zealand

Great room, great location

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Dec 2020
We were very pleased with the Senator. The room was spacious, clean, and modern. The deck had a very nice view over the marina. It was close to everything, including an excellent cafe, 'The Flagship', just 40m away. The separate bedroom was unusual, a windowless room near the entrance, but worked well for us by keeping the room dark for sleeping, and leaving the living area spacious with a wide outlook.
Date of stay: December 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$177
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Senator Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Affordable Luxury at Motel Oasis
$264
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $264
3.1 km from Senator Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Spa studio
$170
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.5 km from Senator Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Right across the road from Waikanae Beach
$177
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Senator Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$164
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $164
4.1 km from Senator Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$181
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.9 km from Senator Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
HCPHGBedroom Deluxe Bed
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $220
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Senator Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $174
  • Expedia.com
    $177
0.8 km from Senator Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    $200
  • eDreams
0.2 km from Senator Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $180
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Senator Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Gisborne
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
165
71
9
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
165
71
9
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location within walking distance appointed rooms centre of town karen harbour bath units roomy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2020

Friendly, welcoming and helpful ladies. We enjoyed our two night stay but found the downstairs room beside the street quite noisy without double glazed windows. Room and bed was comfortable. Well located for an easy walk to city and the Boardwalk around the city waterfront.

Date of stay: November 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank F1425BUkevinw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 December 2020 via mobile

While these units are a little dated, that's more than made up for by their spaucious layout and cleanliness. The units all face east with a nice view across the marina. The upstairs units are best as the downstairs units adjoin the street. There is a little kitchen with a microwave and tea, coffee facilities. The TV is on the small size but offers a range of channels, including Sky Sport. There are good restaurants within easy walking distance and a nice walkway to the beach, so the location is very good. We would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank StheG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2020

Fantastic spotless room with a water view and a very helpful and friendly front desk. Front desk was helpful in ordering me a taxi to airport. I would stay here again next time in Gisborne. Located next to all the bars and restaurants on the wharf as well.

Date of stay: November 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank miles833
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 October 2020

This is a conveniently located property, with a fabulous view. Clean, quiet and has all the amenities and comfort of a spacious apartment..Walking distance to several local restaurants and the CBD of Gisborne. Gracious hosts. Definitely on my list for a return.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 October 2020 via mobile

But that was about it really. The location gave you nice views of the port area and walking distance to the food outlets in that area plus easy walking to town. However, the bed was very uncomfortable and rooms quiet noisy. There is no double glazing or modernizing in the rooms. There was plenty of space though. The shower was over the bath and needed great care as no non slip mat. Ok for one night but would not stay longer

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Oamaruvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews