We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very classy”

The Marina Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 91 Restaurants in Gisborne
Price range: US$11 - US$28
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Situated on the banks of 3 rivers, the Marina Restaurant provides more than just an amazing view. Come and try our modern European cuisine paired with local wines, or try one of our classic cocktails on offer.
Reviewed 1 April 2021

When on holiday in Gisborne, we decided to take the opportunity to eat in an upmarket European style venue, which isn't our usual style. The food was beautifully presented and cooked superbly. The presentation was very "arty" and made for amazing eye appeal. The service was attentive without being over bearing. The mains were light to digest and did not leave us feeling like we'd just over eaten! The setting is very appealing with a lot of history to the building. It's now sitting at the confluence of 3 rivers and makes a beautifully quiet place to dine... Just a pity for us the weather was very cool and cloudy. Overall, an impressive experience when needing a dining treat.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina R, Owner at The Marina Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2021

Hi Shelley,

thank you for your kind feedback. We're glad that you enjoyed your evening and hope to welcome you back another time when the sun is hopefully shining as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2021

Our first visit to Gisborne, and we were really impressed with this restaurant. The food was creative, beautifully presented and, most importantly, delicious. A good wine selection too. The setting is lovely with a view of the rivers and occasional folk coming and going with boats, but the building and elegant decor of the dining room are easy on the eye as well. Service was prompt, efficient and friendly, and the prices were fair and represented excellent value for money. We liked Gisborne very much, and we will look forward to returning to this restaurant.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina R, Owner at The Marina Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2021

Hi John,
thank you very much for your kind comments.
We really appreciate your feedback and are glad you were able to enjoy a nice evening.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Gisborne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2021 via mobile

Superb food, lovely location. Dessert was simply sensational! Only marked down as the food was served through uncomfortably fast for a high end meal (if we hadn’t delayed things we would have received three courses within 60 minutes of arrival) and the service wasn’t quite at the same level as previously.

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank ian0771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina R, Owner at The Marina Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2021

Hi Ian,

thank you for your feedback and we're happy you enjoyed your meal.

We're sorry that you felt rushed throughout your dinner and hope to be able to welcome you back another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2021 via mobile

Excellent service and well presented and delicious food. Our only criticism is the very short cocktail list, otherwise well worth the trip.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank RogerH727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina R, Owner at The Marina Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2021

Thank you very much for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2020 via mobile

Simple is as simple does - delicious!
We spotted this restaurant across the river and were intrigued enough to come across and check it out - we were not disappointed. The restaurant is in an old homestead by the river - it’s been renovated and even with white tablecloths, the atmosphere was very relaxing. The menu was simple - a beef, lamb, fish and vegetarian option. My husband is very fussy with his steak, will send it back if it is not as he asked for - it was perfect. I had pan fried John Dory, lovely. Despite no children’s menu, they easily accommodated our 12 year old son who thoroughly enjoyed his steak. We had the chocolate dessert - you would think it would be overwhelmingly rich. It was not and in fact, we would have liked more!! Go - you’ll thank us!

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank KC-NZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I6454SGmarinar, Owner at The Marina Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2020

Thank you very much for your feedback!

We're so glad you enjoyed your evening with us and hope you enjoy the rest of your time here in Gisborne. We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Marina Restaurant also viewed

 
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
 

Been to The Marina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.