We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
86
53
5
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
53
5
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews studio room french press guest laundry hot weather bathroom sink the main road clean tidy new owners no air conditioning handy location busy road comfortable bed on arrival two nights first floor one night stay visiting gisborne
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

We decided to stay two nights here allowing us time to both explore the region and to relax. On arrival we were met by a happy smiling welcome and shown to our room. The motel is well located for most amenities though the walk to the majority of restaurants may be a bit much for some - 25 to 30 minutes. The room was spacious, comfortable, very clean and well appointed with everything one needs including the facility to warm foods in a microwave. One downside was the noise level, albeit we couldn’t hear road traffic noise we could hear muffled sounds of people in the room above and adjacent.
Good accommodation and if we’re ever in the area again we would certainly consider staying here.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank neil1342014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frik_B123, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Hello Neil,

Thank you for your detailed review of our motel, we look forward to welcoming you back to Gisborne in future!

Kind regards,

Frik & Marise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We stayed here overnight in December 2017 - chosen on the basis of good reviews and a handy location for the birthday party we were visiting Gisborne for. The room was comfortable and clean and had everything we needed. The excellent selection of teas was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris915_Wellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frik_B123, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Hello Chris,

Ahh, finally somebody mentioned the selection of teas! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the room and your stay in Gisborne and hope to see you again!

Kind regards,

Frik & Marise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

Room was great. Bathroom was great. However, the road noise can be clearly heard. If neighbours were talking you could hear them. In the summer it did get a bit warm in the room. There is a table fan but does little. The windows are open all the time so it does get noisy.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frik_B123, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Hello William,

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel.

Kind regards,

Frik & Marise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Always clean, comfortable and well equiped for a good stay we like the bella vista chain when driving around NZ. What makes the Gisborne excellent is the management team,a warm welcome and very helpful in giving their knowledge of the local places to visit and eat. Many thanks for a restful visit, better than some more upmarket and expensive hotels .

Room Tip: The 2 bed suites are much more spacious for keeping luggage out of the way
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alang684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Frik and Marise were very warm and welcoming. The room was spotless and surprisingly quite. A good variety of tea and coffee was available. No complaints about the bed which was very comfortable. It would have been very easy to have extended my stay longer.

Room Tip: Ground floor convenient
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrantS1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frik_B123, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Hello Grant,

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you with us!

Kind regards,

Frik & Marise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews