We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to see an old friend again”
Review of Vivace

Vivace
Ranked #32 of 1,980 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Vivace Restaurant and Bar is one of the best inner city restaurants Auckland has to offer and has been consistent over the last 30 years. The environment is lively & offers a warm ambience with excellent table service, a superb wine list and a menu which caters to diverse palates. Vivace’s food is unmistakably Mediterranean. We offer a full al-a-carte menu and for those wanting a more casual approach to eating, tapas are available throughout the day. There is a separate vegan menu and a large proportion of the menu is suitable for Coeliacs. Off to one side (& hidden by large barn doors) is a small discreet bar reminiscent of the Speakeasies of old - perfect for a casual drink & nibble pre show or after work. Full table service & the whole menu are available in the bar at the high top tables. The wine selection is extensive with 30 by the glass & there is a good selection of spirits, craft beers & cocktails. Bookings suggested on Friday & Saturdays however walk ins are welcome
Reviewed 30 April 2024 via mobile

Vivace is an old friend. Many meals and fun times with colleagues and friends in the old location. First visit to the new location

The fit out bought back excellent memories of the fun times

The menu was fresh but had links in the style back to the old location

Visited on a week day night ahead of the James Taylor concert

Vivace was packed

That being said the food was exceptional, the service first class

Not normally a tipper, I left a tip as the team did an exceptional job tonight

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank kiwidrum63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mandy Lusk, Owner at Vivace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2024

Thank you so much for revisiting us! It is always lovely to see some faces from the past - and really nice to know that is brought back good memories.

It is great to have the shows back on in town as they really do lure some faces from years gone by back into dine before they go.

Thank you for choosing to dine with us as we know there are plenty of places to choose from.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2024 via mobile

Stopped by for lunch from recommendation from our Airbnb host. Didn’t disappoint. The staff was super friendly and pretty much all of them stopped by to talk to us about visiting etc. food was also very good with a lot of options for my wife’s gluten free sensitivity. Location is also nice and quiet but still in the middle of downtown. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank Mouzouris
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mandy Lusk, Owner at Vivace, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2024

Thank you for dining with us - its great to know there were enough choices for your wife too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2024

This place was a random choice made at the spur of the moment and boy was it worth it. Our amazing server Tye was super friendly and was very patient with our questions and was very charming throughout our entire experience!!! Appitisers, dinner and drinks were delicious but we didn't stop there. Dessert and espresso to follow were also fabulous, we recommend the cheesecake. My husband compares it to a truly top notch Italian experience!!! Would love to be able to make it back here one day!!!

Date of visit: February 2024
1  Thank Carly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mandy Lusk, Owner at Vivace, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2024

Thank you so very much for supporting us and for the lovely feedback. Your support is much appreciated - we'd love to get the chance to take care of you again one day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2024

I knew this was going to be good as soon as we walked through the door as the aromas of hot pizza and gently cooked garlic filled the air.
A good choice of pizza and pasta dishes were what we were looking for and Vivace didn't disappoint.
Even better for me was being able to watch the chefs at work in the open kitchen

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 55Steelman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mandy Lusk, Owner at Vivace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2024

Thank you so much for the lovely feedback and many thanks for choosing to stop and dine with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2024 via mobile

The restaurant is on a quiet side street, but in sitting at an outside table there was some interesting action to view at times. The menu also had some interesting options and my prawn risotto and husbands lamb pasta were both delicious.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Claire44881
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mandy Lusk, Owner at Vivace, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2024

Thanks for finding us Claire - we know we are a little out of the way! We are glad you enjoyed your experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vivace also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Vivace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.