We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great drinks, great service”
Review of Vivace

Vivace
Ranked #34 of 1,968 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Vivace Restaurant and Bar is one of the best inner city restaurants Auckland has to offer and has been consistent over the last 30 years. The environment is lively & offers a warm ambience with excellent table service, a superb wine list and a menu which caters to diverse palates. Vivace’s food is unmistakably Mediterranean. We offer a full al-a-carte menu and for those wanting a more casual approach to eating, tapas are available throughout the day. There is a separate vegan menu and a large proportion of the menu is suitable for Coeliacs. Off to one side (& hidden by large barn doors) is a small discreet bar reminiscent of the Speakeasies of old - perfect for a casual drink & nibble pre show or after work. Full table service & the whole menu are available in the bar at the high top tables. The wine selection is extensive with 30 by the glass & there is a good selection of spirits, craft beers & cocktails. Bookings suggested on Friday & Saturdays however walk ins are welcome
Reviewed 2 November 2022 via mobile

Went to vivace tonight with 2 friends. Luckily they were able to fit us in without a booking. Everything I ate and drank was delicious! Highly recommend the pork belly, the mozzarella balls, and the snapper. The pavlova for dessert was gorgeous aswell! Our server Louis was great as well. Will definitely be back :)

Date of visit: November 2022
Thank Strawberry49
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 43 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2022 via mobile

Loved visiting this restaurant, excellent service and food was delicious! Some of the best I’ve had. Gluten free pizza was very yummy highly recommend! Excellent atmosphere and pizza prices are very reasonable. Would’ve liked a few more vegetarian options but all round great place to dine

Date of visit: July 2022
Thank Clara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 June 2022 via mobile

After a few days of having quick meals, I’d decided to search for the best restaurant in city centre. Vivace turned up on top of the list.

I went on a week night, without reservation. Thankfully I’d managed to get a table without much waiting (the restaurant was quite filled at that time).

I’d ordered the Catch of the Day (snapper if I remembered correctly). The skin was crispy and the fish meat tender (without bones).

For dessert I ordered the warm apricot cake with vanilla ice cream. I was told that it’s a South African dish. The apricot was very subtly blended. It’s nice!

The staff were friendly, prompt and offered great recommendations.

Overall it’s an enjoyable dinner and deserving of a high rating.

Date of visit: June 2022
Thank michaelt238874Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2022

We enjoyed exploring the menu from small tapas to mains, and the food, wine and service was top notch. We love Vivaces risotto - perfection on a plate and our friends eye fillet was also superb.
Great vibe and service to match the excellent food. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: December 2021
Thank ArasNaneek52
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2021 via mobile

We had just a couple of nights in Auckland, and felt like a nice meal out so googled and liked the sound of this place, so popped in without prebooking, and were most pleasantly surprised. We opted for the four course special menu matched with wines, and what a flavorful meal, the highlight probably being the venison which was the best we’ve tasted, lovely attentive service also

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank Hunt939
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Vivace also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Vivace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.