We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must! ”
Review of Apero Food & Wine

Apero Food & Wine
Ranked #65 of 2,468 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Wine Bar
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

Great food and atmosphere. The service was excellent as was the range and quality of the tapas. They have a small but good quality wine list. Everyone in our group loved it and would definitely like to go back

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank U8695MXstephenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2018

The service we received was second to none. When making our reservation we had some dietary requirements which the waiter was aware of and immediately acknowledged, offering option as he guided us through the menu. The service was attentive in a relaxed and casual way that fitted the atmosphere of the restaurant perfectly. The place is small and I’d suggest booking would be essential as the venue quickly filled. Possibly not the best if your looking for a quiet romantic dinner but it would be an ideal spot to go with a few friends for some great wine and food. The dishes are ideal to share so everyone gets to enjoy the great options the restaurant offers.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 714stevem714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

.. and previously failed attempts to get there. Sometimes a friend can build a place up and you go with unrealistic expectations that can't be met in the actual experience. This was not the case with Apero. The service was the stand out, with hosts Mo and Loz certainly living up to their great hospitality billings. Apero is very small (probably seats 30) but has a wonderful friendly atmosphere. Our group of three arrived spontaneously and late mid week. We perched up with a glass of wine until one of the tables came free.

For two of us it was our first time, so our regular (Bailey) did the ordering. The menu was fairly limited, but every thing we had (and we tried almost half of it) was really good. Some tasty little starters were followed by a basket of breads, a brie de meaux (layered with truffle) and iberian ham (with truffle) on bread so you could make your own fantastic ham and cheese sandwiches. We also had the terrine, burrata, a half roasted cauliflower (amazing), the signature pork sausage and the generous rib eye, with mash.

The wines were very good, a nice French bottle of red we ordered followed by an Italian red delivered and recommended by Mo. Overall a great experience and one I will repeat soon, to try the rest of the menu (or just do a great repeat).

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

We booked after the great reviews
Awesome wine selection and excellent service but the food selection was lacking in the portion sizes a bit on the small side.
If you love a great meat dish best to flag this place as they only had a small serving of lamb and their in house sausage which needed the sides to give it taste. The scotch was available but so over priced.
Not for and won’t be back

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank kruuza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Arrived early for a pre film meal and drinks. Luckily we had booked as it was busy. Couples and after work friends and groups. We’ve been here before and enjoyed the laid back but quietly sophisticated vibe here. Fantastic wine list. But why are so many restaurants and bars in Auckland cold? Just sort the heating please. So the food......mmmmm mixed bag. The bread basket of course was delish and reasonable as was the terrine. But the 2 miserable croquettes and expensive dish of mushrooms were disappointing. The famed sausage was tasty but nothing special. Menu could do with an overhaul. The service was slightly harried and perfunctory. Overall we had a nice time but I think it’s too expensive for what it sets out to be -a wine bar with food. Probably better for small groups to share.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank NZfoodie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Apero Food & Wine also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Apero Food & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing