We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Flavours, Great Service, Friendly Staff, Nice Place”
Review of Odettes Eatery

Odettes Eatery
Ranked #29 of 1,978 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 24 December 2014

Enjoyed Bites of
Wood Fire Focaccia bread with Apple Butter (dip your chips/fries in the butter - heavenly) $9
Seared Atlantic Scallops with Mandarin, Confit Pork Hock & Salsa Verde $18

Loved For Sharing of
Harmony BBQ Pork Belly chermoula, crackle, Aioli $17
Vanuatu Prawn steam bun with Avocado smash, lime, crisp shallot $8 each

Drank
Citrus iced tea
Mixed fruit juices

Sweets
Tarte Tatin Caramelised Pear Vanilla bean ice cream $14
Lemon Curd Blueberry Compote, Meringue $15

All served by friendly, welcoming staff in a comfortable, relaxing setting.
Odettes in located next to Al Brown's Best Ugly Bagel. The Man who brought sensible, great, unbelievable food to Auckland; and thus allowed other establishments such as Odettes & The Food Truck to flourish & succeed

Date of visit: December 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lathkill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

587 - 591 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2014

I felt this place was over-rated, after hearing all the hype and reports from the media, I was disappointed, and won't be racing back.

Date of visit: December 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank lindawB3154LJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 December 2014

Fabulous ambience. Attentive staff, but not overdone. Interesting menu from shared plates to main courses. i went with work colleagues and Odettes was a perfect choice. Not recommended for a quiet, romantic night. LOVED the food.

Date of visit: December 2014
Thank KathrynSauck
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 December 2014

Dined here on a Saturday about 1 30pm. Had no trouble getting a table and were given the menu which is only a brunch menu. Ordered drinks which were slow coming out and then our food order was taken and that folks is the end of the service. The food when it arrived was cold, and the mushrooms had no shaved chorizo. We were keen to have another round of drinks but could not get the attention of any staff. They were standing at the cash register talking and certainly not keeping an eye on their customers. So we left and will never return. This place really needs to sort out service and continue to serve people throughout the whole time patrons are in the restaurant, and not just at the beginning. Another over - hyped Auckland Restaurant that does not deliver.

Date of visit: December 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Lemons4906
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2014

Odette's Eatery is one of the most aesthetically comfortable interiors around. There are modern Danish style seats and tables or very comfy couch-like seating against the two interior walls. Take a corner if possible and enjoy the light coming in the fully glass entry-way or simply people watching around the restaurant which is open and airy with great sight lines.

The food is simply tasty and delicious from entree tapas to mains -- everything is geared to share. Portions may seem moderate and multiple courses can get quite pricey but the energizing ambience and super friendly and attentive service was totally worth it.

In the oddly familiar phrase of an LA actor & former California Governator, "I'll be back..."

Date of visit: November 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Odettes Eatery also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Odettes Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.