We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real Auckland gem”

Sid at The French Cafe
Ranked #12 of 1,968 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Price range: $45 - $175
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Sid at The French Cafe is a fine dining restaurant in Auckland City offering the very best in food, wine and service.
Reviewed 7 January 2022

Marvellous food, polished service without being stuffy and a great setting. So good to be back. Had the five course degustation on New Years Eve. First two seafood courses were sublime. Duck in one of the meat courses was a bit meh but other plate made up for it.

Date of visit: December 2021
Thank Demondomani
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2022 via mobile

Wonderful experience. Great food and good humored service. Food was really good. Recommend the tropical falls ours dessert. Also had a few extra surprises when ordering from the a la carte menu - extra dishes given in between meals.

Date of visit: January 2022
1  Thank delb0inz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2022

Been over ten years since I last visited the French Café.
An owner change hasn't made a difference as it is still one of the finest restaurants in NZ in my opinion.
No it isn't low cost but attention to detail and quality of the Cuisine and Wine was exceptional. Will definitely be back soon.

Date of visit: December 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mikenz2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2021

We had an amazing experience there. Our waiter looked after us so well. Wine pairing was fantastic. It matched beautifully with our meal. We were group of 8 and all of us thoroughly enjoyed every dish.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank skiphopkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2021

For years I’ve been waiting to go here. Finally decided to take my best friend for her birthday. Food was interesting and tasty and little morsels kept coming which was fun. First appearance was so disappointing if you expect a French atmosphere. Bland and boring and nothing decorative which I would have expected if French, apparently we are just to ficus in thd food. Limited Vicky suits although they have a nice bar area. I think it’s still trading on its old reputation but failed for me. I wanted glam as well as thd taste

Date of visit: July 2021
2  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Sid at The French Cafe also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Sid at The French Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.