We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Sid at The French Cafe
Ranked #12 of 1,977 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Price range: $45 - $175
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Sid at The French Cafe is a fine dining restaurant in Auckland City offering the very best in food, wine and service.
Reviewed 7 September 2021

We had an amazing experience there. Our waiter looked after us so well. Wine pairing was fantastic. It matched beautifully with our meal. We were group of 8 and all of us thoroughly enjoyed every dish.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank skiphopkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2021

For years I’ve been waiting to go here. Finally decided to take my best friend for her birthday. Food was interesting and tasty and little morsels kept coming which was fun. First appearance was so disappointing if you expect a French atmosphere. Bland and boring and nothing decorative which I would have expected if French, apparently we are just to ficus in thd food. Limited Vicky suits although they have a nice bar area. I think it’s still trading on its old reputation but failed for me. I wanted glam as well as thd taste

Date of visit: July 2021
2  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 July 2021

My friend and I were lucky enough to secure a booking on Tuesday 22nd June 2021, when I was in Auckland for a conference. And what an experience it was! Nothing short of spectacular! The food and the service were extraordinary. I believe it is possibly the best restaurant meal I have ever had, both in New Zealand and overseas. And I've had plenty, being 64 years young. We were seated close to the open kitchen and it was fascinating to watch the hive of quiet industry, overseen by Sid. I cannot recommend it more highly. Adrienne

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank honestappraiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 May 2021

While it's still The French Cafe, the food style is quite different - and exceptional. The attention to detail is commendable, and tastes were great. Service was a little slow, especially with our initial drinks. Overall though, very good.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 52phantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2021 via mobile

Enjoyed our night but the food and service were just not up there.

The fit out has aged as well

Just running on it’s past reputation and the tank is getting low. Bit of a shame. Probably needs to be reborn / made over to get a refreshed life if it’s own.

Date of visit: February 2021
4  Thank astropig
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chandsahrawat, Owner at Sid at The French Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2021

Thanks for the feedback, as you can imagine refurbishment has been interrupted with Covid-19 last year, although some was completed. Other refurbishment is continuing this year. We do not believe in trading on the restaurants past reputation alone and are reinvesting and reinventing the wheel. Hope to welcome you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sid at The French Cafe also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Sid at The French Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.