We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service that allows easy conversation without noise”

Sid at The French Cafe
Ranked #12 of 1,978 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Price range: $45 - $175
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Sid at The French Cafe is a fine dining restaurant in Auckland City offering the very best in food, wine and service.
Reviewed 5 July 2020

The food was delicious, in the right quantities for a 3-course lunch, in surroundings that allowed easy conversation (which is often not that easy to find) and impeccable service. It was expensive but worth every dollar.

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank godfreyb300
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2020

from outside very low key but once seated(with nice distance to the next table and without the typical loud disco-sound) you can enjoy a first class menu quite comparable to top restaurants in other countries like lima-peru. infact the french touch is not that expressed but rather modern cooking near to molecular kitchen.
service was nice and so was the wine.

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank udoab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2020 via mobile

Hadn’t been to the French cafe since Did to over. Wow what had I been missing.... all I can say is world class! From start to finish. Yes it’s high price but worth every cent.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank G7730WFlisar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2020

A good experience. Replete with smoking appetizers. Plenty of amuse bouchée. A variety of tastes in every dish. Portions do not overwhelm. Service could use a little more training. This is the kind of place you go once for special occasion. Be prepared for a three hour meal and a healthy price tag.

Date of visit: February 2020
2  Thank rel601wea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2020

🔪 DIVINE DINING 🔪
~ SID at THE FRENCH CAFÉ ~
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
Another absolute highlight from my recent trip to New Zealand was dining at @sidatthefrenchcafe a 2Hat restaurant with a wonderful ambience and impeccable modern cuisine.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
🔪 Hawkes Bay Lamb
🔪 Free Range Pork
🔪 Wagyu Beef, Scampi
🔪 Kingfish, Dill
🔪 Venison Tartare
🔪 Raw Tuna, Scallop
🔪 Amuse Bouché
🔪 White Chocolate, Passionfruit
🔪 Mandarin Sorbet
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
——————————
follow me and share my passion for Creative Culinary 🔪
@glennscottcreativeculinary
——————————
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
The Details:
Dining out in Auckland, NZ - SID at THE FRENCH CAFÉ @sidatthefrenchcafe - Executive Chef Sid Sahrawat @sidsahrawat - Head Chef @lesleychandra #auckland
——————————
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
Sensational... outstanding in every way! The atmosphere, service, food and wine all #onpoint 👌🏻 Sid is renown for his contemporary modern dining with a fusion of modern indian flavors, intricate, inventive and delicious.
——————————

Date of visit: November 2019
2  Thank glennscottculinary
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Sid at The French Cafe also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Sid at The French Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.