We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stepping through the looking glass: A magical reality”
Review of SPQR Cafe & Bar

SPQR Cafe & Bar
Reserve a table
Ranked #104 of 2,218 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 7 October 2019

Since inception this has been an iconic space to eat and drink, its people diversely splendid, its food reliably good. But something seems to have taken place of late that has seen the edge further sharpened. The space is still special. It has an Alice in Wonderland quality that makes you feel like you have stepped into something faintly otherworldly. But the rest has shifted on its axis, just enough to make it feel like it is spinning differently. And we liked it. The margaritas we drank were not just good but superb, the Italian red had shifted itself from classic to sublime, the food from really nice to utterly delicious. If you are in Auckland and like quirky people, romance, reds and Italian food - do yourself a favour. Book in.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2019

I enjoyed a three course lunch and a beautiful rose wine with a large group of colleagues.The service was excellent and the staff friendly. I was a bit disappointed with the food as felt the portions were very small.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 September 2019 via mobile

I have dined at SPQR regularly over the years as I live locally. It is consistently hard to beat for good food, service and atmosphere whether you sit by the fire in winter or outside in summer.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank robyn001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2019

Lovely staff. Fantastic food, especially the pizzas but also offer a wide range of meal options. An icon of Ponsonby Rd

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
1  Thank Tania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2019

This is our absolute favourite lunch and dinner restaurant in Ponsonby. Wether it’s a group catch up or date night SPQR is the place to be. It’s got divine food, the best location and most importantly, atmosphere.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank 1973vicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed SPQR Cafe & Bar also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to SPQR Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.