We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but room for improvement ”

Sawadee Thai Cuisine
Ranked #588 of 2,468 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

We met some friends here for dinner and while it was a nice experience, with good food there is definitely some room for improvement.

The setting is okay but you may be distracted by the constant arrival of delivery drivers picking up food.

The food itself was nice. I loved my Sawadee curry (one of their house specialties) but some of my friends found their dishes a little bland and not bursting with flavor as you expect from a thai restaurant. At $25 a dish, excluding rice, you would expect a little more.

The service was good, although perhaps a little slow to start with as staff were busy with delivery pick ups.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Kiwi-1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2018

What on earth has happened to this once good restaurant? Its been around for decades and used to be somewhere you could get a really tasty selection of Thai dishes for a reasonable price. But over the last couple of years I have noticed a marked decline in food quality. Whatever you order there is a sameness about the flavours and, no matter what time of year, there is no excuse for using mass-produced frozen vegetables, not when you’re charging $20 for a vegetarian meal. There is nothing authentically Thai about the offerings and the meals are stodgy and bland. The service is ok but doesnt compensate for the food. We wont be eating at Sawadee again.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank ThriceWoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

My wife and I met some friends here for dinner. The setting is not amazing and the constant 'uber-eats' drivers flooding the entrance was somewhat off-putting however the food was absolutely superb. I would consider returning for a casual dining experience but this is far from a fine-dining restaurant. If you are staying close consider eating in the comfort of your own room and order take-away - it seems very popular!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Went to Sawadee last week for a work’s outing. I’m not a huge fan of Thai food, as being a pescatarian, the options are usually quite limited.
We had the “buffet meal” and normally full of meat, the tofu and vegetable spring roll alternative was very tasty and filling.
Main course, tofu curry, vegetable curry and prawns were all exceptional.
Great service throughout, and there were 24 of us.
Highly recommend a visit here.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank davidcapstick40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

I was recommended Sawadee as a venue to have a small birthday celebration. I've had Thai before and unfortunately Sawadee did not live up to expectations for a Ponsonby restaurant.

Service was good, nothing spectacular but it was satisfactory, classic Thai service. The menu was good, enough variety to tease the clientele. The food however, quite average. Flavours were bland, dishes lacked those pungent flavours you yearn for. In short, and I speak from industry experience, the food looked and tasted like it had been combined only seconds before service. Now, normally that's a given for speed of delivery, but not when you can clearly tell that your meat and sauces had not been given the time to bind together. Our satay chicken were just warmed skewers layered with a separately warmed satay sauce, so neither worked in unison. And you could tell from the evident difference in colouring and simply the manner in which it was presented. My Tiger Milk Curry was literally bland strips of flavourless chicken tossed in a warmed up banana curry sauce. Again, none of it tasted like it had marinated or cooked together at length, and flavours were quite bland. A shame really as it would not have needed much, just some TLC, fresh herbs, and better chicken prep.

Fortunately, company was excellent. It was great seeing a great friend of mine and his partner again for this special day. They too felt a little let down and commented that the whole experience was a lesser one than that of the past. Which falls in line with some other recent reviews.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yorick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sawadee Thai Cuisine also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Sawadee Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing