We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food for vegetarians / pescatarians”

Sawadee Thai Cuisine
Ranked #588 of 2,468 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Went to Sawadee last week for a work’s outing. I’m not a huge fan of Thai food, as being a pescatarian, the options are usually quite limited.
We had the “buffet meal” and normally full of meat, the tofu and vegetable spring roll alternative was very tasty and filling.
Main course, tofu curry, vegetable curry and prawns were all exceptional.
Great service throughout, and there were 24 of us.
Highly recommend a visit here.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank davidcapstick40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2018

I was recommended Sawadee as a venue to have a small birthday celebration. I've had Thai before and unfortunately Sawadee did not live up to expectations for a Ponsonby restaurant.

Service was good, nothing spectacular but it was satisfactory, classic Thai service. The menu was good, enough variety to tease the clientele. The food however, quite average. Flavours were bland, dishes lacked those pungent flavours you yearn for. In short, and I speak from industry experience, the food looked and tasted like it had been combined only seconds before service. Now, normally that's a given for speed of delivery, but not when you can clearly tell that your meat and sauces had not been given the time to bind together. Our satay chicken were just warmed skewers layered with a separately warmed satay sauce, so neither worked in unison. And you could tell from the evident difference in colouring and simply the manner in which it was presented. My Tiger Milk Curry was literally bland strips of flavourless chicken tossed in a warmed up banana curry sauce. Again, none of it tasted like it had marinated or cooked together at length, and flavours were quite bland. A shame really as it would not have needed much, just some TLC, fresh herbs, and better chicken prep.

Fortunately, company was excellent. It was great seeing a great friend of mine and his partner again for this special day. They too felt a little let down and commented that the whole experience was a lesser one than that of the past. Which falls in line with some other recent reviews.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yorick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Sawadee was always a sure thing- go there and you got really good Thai food. Last night was Ok but not great. We had 4 of us and ordered an entrée each- I had the soup and my husband the satay. The soup was very tasty but expensive for the size I thought. The satay.- big pieces of chicken but the satay sauce not peanutty enough. My husband and I shared 2 curries- Massaman and duck. Both were very tasty. We had no drinks- only water. The water was served in a carafe and being a warm night, cold water would have been nice but we got warmish water which was not the greatest. It was $150 for 4 people without drinks. The décor is very very dated now, A mismatch of style, colours etc and just looks old. The staff were pleasant and the service good.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AucklandWiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Returned for dinner after many years away as we remembered this place with many fond memories and stunning food. Still nice food but not as good as we remembered, and unfortunately now very overpriced. Sadly probably won't be returning.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ASRGunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

We went to eat a group of friends of 7 couples at the beginning of December 2017. The restaurant has easy access, situated in the outskirts of the center of Auckland. We were sit near to the entrance, in a romantic place with candles. All the decoration, table and seats typical from Thailand. We brought our self drink from home and they serve us free water from the tap (good to drink). We ordered a mixed menu for everybody: for entrance a sample of typical Thai food (individual): fried chicken, fried mushed potato, fried mushed fish and a vegetable roller, accompanied with many sauces. After this they came with a big bowl of rice and shared out with everyone a good portion and started to bring dishes for sharing, so each one could serve itself and mix it with the rice: chicken, beef and prawns. Everything was really good but the beef: the cubes were with bones and they were not easy to eat. Personally the sauce was also not easy to eat either. One friend is allergic to nuts and they put all the sausaces apart for their dishes. Watch out! If you do not like spicy this is not a good place to go. The service was really good, helpful and all the waiters asked many times if how was everything going. We did not order dessert neither coffe. Total cost per person: 39NZD. We think it is bit expensive because the drinks are not included.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank manjuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sawadee Thai Cuisine also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Sawadee Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing