We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still one of the best!”
Review of Sails Restaurant

Sails Restaurant
Reserve a table
Ranked #1 of 1,981 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Sails Restaurant has an amazing location. Set in the middle of Westhaven Marina, beside the Harbour Bridge, with breathtaking views of the harbour. There are few views in the world that capture the essence of the city than the one from Sails Restaurant. A couple of minutes from the centre of Auckland, yet in a world of its own, with unlimited free parking at the door, Sails Restaurant is not just about its location. Over the last three decades the restaurant has forged its reputation as one of New Zealand’s top restaurants through an uncompromising belief in using only the freshest ingredients, the most talented chefs, and professional waiting staff. The menu at Sails is seafood focused, but also includes New Zealand’s finest beef and lamb. The full menu and all the details can be found on our website.
Reviewed 29 March 2024

Had a very enjoyable lunch at Sails & appreciated top notch friendly service, food & lovely views.
Excellent value for a first class experience.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank Beedee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 98 of 1,843 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2024

Came here hoping for a special evening to celebrate a significant wedding anniversary and could not have been more thrilled. Absolutely everything was perfect from start to finish- an evening we’ll remember for long time ♥️

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank _jackieaa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2024

Lovely bright restaurant looking out over the yacht harbour, great service and wonderful food. My dinner was fabulous, consisting of a delicious starter of scallops followed by Hawkes Bay lamb, beautifully prepared and wonderfully flavourful. The petit fours dessert was also a perfect way to finish off a perfect meal. My wife’s experience was similar. She had King Salmon, wild mushroom risotto and pavlova for dessert. Overall, a great dining experience. The restaurant is out of the way if you don’t have a car, so you will need a taxi or Uber from the CBD. No bus stop anywhere close.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank What
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2024 via mobile

Wow! We had the Signature Menu and it was just wonderful. 6 courses, all beautiful and perfectly cooked. The table, atmosphere and views are great and we were there for several hours, as we didn’t feel rushed. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank pennyb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 March 2024

This restaurant is an Auckland Icon. Absolutely firstclass view (marina), attentive service that never encroaches and delicious food. We had the bluff oysters (dazzlingly fresh), scallops and calamari to start - all perfect. Then the lamb, risotto (so divine) and fish & chips. All delicious, contemporary and beautifully plated. Sadly we were too full for dessert, although I managed a yummy banana split cocktail. Highly recommended

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank HRHWallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Sails Restaurant also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Sails Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.