We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big eater! Go for the 6 course!”
Review of Sails Restaurant

Sails Restaurant
Reserve a table
Ranked #2 of 1,978 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Sails Restaurant has an amazing location. Set in the middle of Westhaven Marina, beside the Harbour Bridge, with breathtaking views of the harbour. There are few views in the world that capture the essence of the city than the one from Sails Restaurant. A couple of minutes from the centre of Auckland, yet in a world of its own, with unlimited free parking at the door, Sails Restaurant is not just about its location. Over the last three decades the restaurant has forged its reputation as one of New Zealand’s top restaurants through an uncompromising belief in using only the freshest ingredients, the most talented chefs, and professional waiting staff. The menu at Sails is seafood focused, but also includes New Zealand’s finest beef and lamb. The full menu and all the details can be found on our website.
Reviewed 17 March 2024

Read is the #1 restaurant in Auckland, so need to try! Not much of a view as the window is too high up. They've the 6 course or ala carte to choose from. My friend and I had Ala Carte while my gf had the 6 course. We were impressed by her 6 course meal as it was beautiful presented and big quantity! Not small little portion for 2 main course. My starter Sashimi is ok, not superb. But I really like the sides Carrot very nicely done. Wine by the glass pour is generous, quality is good and good price too! I'll come back again if I'm back in Auckland.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SuperShan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 72 of 1,810 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2024 via mobile

Excellant restaurant. Was recommended by a waitor at a other restaurant..great service and outstanding food. Friendly staff and nice wineselection

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank jgb000055521
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2024

Excellent spot for great seafood, good service and a nice environment. I'm a local and I've visited several times now. Sure to be back again.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2024

When I advised reception that we would be celebrating our 40th we had no idea that we would be escorted to the very best seat in the house, beside an open window on a balmy summer night with a spectacular view of Westhaven marina. We were treated to Sails' exquisite signature menu, with gorgeous matching wines and exceptional service. Can I say no more? It was truly an evening to remember.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank TASrockDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2024

My sister and I visited Sails for lunch and it was a wonderful experience. The food was superb, the service was impeccable and the staff were friendly. The location is magic and overall it was a memorable and wonderful experience. Can’t recommend enough.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank fletcherjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Sails Restaurant also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Sails Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.