We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently One of Auckland's Finest”
Review of Sails Restaurant

Sails Restaurant
Reserve a table
Ranked #2 of 1,968 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Sails Restaurant has an amazing location. Set in the middle of Westhaven Marina, beside the Harbour Bridge, with breathtaking views of the harbour. There are few views in the world that capture the essence of the city than the one from Sails Restaurant. A couple of minutes from the centre of Auckland, yet in a world of its own, with unlimited free parking at the door, Sails Restaurant is not just about its location. Over the last three decades the restaurant has forged its reputation as one of New Zealand’s top restaurants through an uncompromising belief in using only the freshest ingredients, the most talented chefs, and professional waiting staff. The menu at Sails is seafood focused, but also includes New Zealand’s finest beef and lamb. The full menu and all the details can be found on our website.
Reviewed 25 February 2024

We enjoyed the Signature Menu which was a 6 course degustation. Each course was delicious. Generous servings so we were full at the end. Service was outstanding. We'll be back!

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank DanHealey2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 73 of 1,796 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2024

After the Trip Advisor Reviews we were very excited about going to Sails.

Location is brilliant however everything else was disappointing.

For mains we both had Duck. It consisted of the breast and a leg. It was the most disappointing Duck meal we have ever had. The previous day we had Duck at Harbourside Ocean Bar Grill and it was beautiful.

Unfortunately, at Sails the leg had little meat on it and the breast was so thin we couldn't eat it.

Apart from the very disappointing meal, the service left a lot to be desired. The person who met us at Reception indicated they would be looking after us. We didn't
see him again. The entire time we were there we occasionally had to stand up to attract someone's attention. The Sommelier recommended some wines but he didn't
return to our table once to ask how we enjoyed the wines.

A most disappointing occasion.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kevoSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2024 via mobile

Beautiful meal with excellent service from the moment we arrived! Fabulous menu and wine! Great venue and very attentive staff! Lovely place to celebrate an occasion!

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Bernadette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2024

First time at Sails for my partners birthday. It absolutely lived up to it’s long standing reputation. Loved everything about it. Thanks Sails team!!!!

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank shazini2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2024 via mobile

We had the Signature menu with wine pairings and all was exceptional. The service was excellent and the setting was perfect for the city of sails as we looked out over the marina of hundreds of sailboats.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Sails Restaurant also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Sails Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.