We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service, wonderful food”
Review of Sails Restaurant

Sails Restaurant
Reserve a table
Ranked #2 of 1,969 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Sails Restaurant has an amazing location. Set in the middle of Westhaven Marina, beside the Harbour Bridge, with breathtaking views of the harbour. There are few views in the world that capture the essence of the city than the one from Sails Restaurant. A couple of minutes from the centre of Auckland, yet in a world of its own, with unlimited free parking at the door, Sails Restaurant is not just about its location. Over the last three decades the restaurant has forged its reputation as one of New Zealand’s top restaurants through an uncompromising belief in using only the freshest ingredients, the most talented chefs, and professional waiting staff. The menu at Sails is seafood focused, but also includes New Zealand’s finest beef and lamb. The full menu and all the details can be found on our website.
Reviewed 3 February 2024

Sails is an Auckland institution. One of the oldest restaurants around, its venue is second-to-none. I am a regular there but have never had the signature menu until now. I went yesterday, had the menu together with some wonderful hand-selected wine, and it was amazing! We say my the wind looking out of the beautiful Westhaven Marina and things could not have been more perfect. cerviche, salmon, calamari, duck, lamb and rounded off with the most delicious Creme Brûlée I have ever tasted. I would have no hesitation in recommending Sails for a wonderful lunch or dinner!

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank Ambassador752021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 65 of 1,763 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2024

Excellent meal, wonderful service and a gorgeous setting. We couldn't fault our evening...highly recommend.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank Sharonlee2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 February 2024

Divine degustation menu. Great flavours and dishes. Loved every mouthful. Fabulous service as well. Great venue right on the water.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank CatherineDavison
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 February 2024

Up to its usual high standards … beautiful setting, delicious vegetarian option for degustation, matched wines and excellent service from the staff. We will return!

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank 443niae
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2024

We had a lovely degustation at what has become our favourite restaurant. With easy access parking outside and a nice view over the boat harbour this helps make Sails unique. The atmosphere is great and the service is always good without being too stuffy. The degustation menu was excellent and my favourite was the Spiced Calamari. Only slight negative was the duck seemed to lack its usual strong flavour.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank stevenlkemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Sails Restaurant also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Sails Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.