We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The High Standard Never Falters.”
Review of One Tree Grill

One Tree Grill
Ranked #10 of 1,969 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $42
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Outstanding cellared wines, innovative cuisine, thoroughly professional service - as one of Auckland's favourite local restaurants, One Tree Grill offers a complete dining experience.
Reviewed 7 December 2022

One Tree Grill has been a favourite of mine for more than 20 years. Its 'companion', Little Jimmy, is justly popular with the younger set, but OTG provides a consistent level of service that continues to delight its longtime clientele, and judging from the last visit, a lot of newer people as well.
From the moment you arrive, to a warm welcome, efficient seating and attention to preferences, you know you are in excellent hands. Food is imaginative and delicious. Favourite dishes have subtle changes which at once show the chef is alert and creative, but still fulfil the longing for a particular favourite dish. No one does steak or duck better than OTG. Maybe just a little more variety in the dessert area?? Wine list is excellent and fairly priced. Recommended wine matches show knowledge and flair.
Over time, we have aged a little and the verandah was a bit noisy for easy conversation. We will ask to sit inside next time. A recent birthday in the private room was absolutely ideal for a group of about 8. We like to meet friends or close family and to talk to one another. OTG's main dining room facilitates that with its soft surfaces. Large noisy parties are not its particular thing. If you want to shout and 'be seen' maybe you would be better on some footpath nearer the waterfront?
I hope to be back at OTG well before my next birthday.

Date of visit: December 2022
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank AlixAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 1,487 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2022

Consistently amazing over the many year's I have been coming here. The food and wine is five star - the service is even better. What a great night out. Worth every penny.

Date of visit: December 2022
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank MargWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 November 2022

As always food, drinks, and service were excellent. Have never had a bad experience here in over eight years of dinning.

Date of visit: November 2022
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank timdempsey2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 November 2022 via mobile

Dined in the weekend with my family for our usual monthly treats so this is our 2nd time here ... our first visit was valued at $400 for a family of 5... the food wasn't worth the value of payment at all so I thought to let it go ... and then again this time round they are even worse.
None of us finished any meal... overall the food was terrible.... told the waiter that served us but claimed they have a new chef and they've been getting the same feedback re food... but still charged full price without any consideration of these feedbacks... bloody greedy & rip off...

No more next time!

Date of visit: November 2022
3  Thank patz_sheryl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2022

Wonderful staff and beautiful food. A great way to celebrate a special birthday with family. Would highly recommend and looking forward to visiting again!

Date of visit: September 2022
1  Thank yamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed One Tree Grill also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to One Tree Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.