We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”
Review of Oh Calcutta

Oh Calcutta
Ranked #13 of 1,966 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Parnell
Description: When you google us or check out our Facebook page you will discover we have a cult following, not because we are the coolest but because we consistently offer personal service of the highest standard and create mouth-watering, time-honoured family recipe dishes, made with passion and humble, honest flavours. This is not made-to-measure cooking. This is cooking from the heart. So much so, that our chefs instinctively know when a dish is just right; how it should feel, how it should taste, how it should look. Indeed an art and its entertainment, so we showcase this spice-dance for you with our glass kitchen. Our target was to offer authentic rustic Indian food from a unique part of India; this is not just food, these are memories of my childhood. Our outlook on life is simple, why waste time with bad food and bad company? We are locals, we love serving food lovers and we love to share our passion.
Reviewed 7 January 2022

Oh Calcutta, is one of the best Indian restaurants in Auckland. Rich in flavour, super super delicious, full of variety, the restaurant in its truest sense depicts the flavours of India and the warmth of it's people. We tried the smoked tikka salmon for starters and the aloo samosas and absolutely loved it. Would suggest to try out the Prawn Thokku as well. For a bomb of refreshing flavour, try out the paan icecream for desserts. How we wish we could eat more and try everything on the menu - looks like another visit to this amazing place is in order. Shout-out to Meena (the owner), your chefs and staff for a wonderful evening. We had a great time!

Date of visit: January 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GGTALKIES
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2021

This is our favourite Indian restaurant in Auckland. Not only is the food great quality but also the waiters are always so friendly. They remember us every time we visit which our young son especially loves

Date of visit: December 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sbnowc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2021

Wife and I experienced a wonderful evening celebrating my Birthday. What a cosy restaurant this place is, came in from the cold, but were warmed up very quickly. The ambience is this place suits couples and as well larger parties.
I have to mention the Lamb Seekh Kebabs (small bites) which were melt in your mouth and with just the correct amount of spices.
The food is subtle in its spices and doesn't overpower the food, There is a great amount of thought and skill going into producing these dishes. A special mention must be made of the Goan Chicken Vindaloo, transported to another place and time, this is a must try if you like layers and layers of flavours that dance on your tongue.
The staff are attentive but not overbearing which adds to the experience, the character of the owners have been imparted into the staff, well done!

Our new favourite Indian Dinning place, for those special occasions and not so special occasions.

Date of visit: August 2021
3  Thank expat62
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 July 2021 via mobile

This restraint was amazing and inviting, the curry and rice was subprime and it was generally a great vibe. The toilets are clean and great music is playing, saying that the restaurant was pretty hot but overall 10/10

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank OnAir61318138721
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 July 2021

The food is very nice here - we had butter chicken and mushroom and spinach. Portions are small but it’s really a fine dining Indian restaurant. Very nice food - we will come back . Ice cream at the end was very nice and they have a good whiskey list and some nice craft beers

Date of visit: July 2021
2  Thank CameronTWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Oh Calcutta also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Oh Calcutta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.