We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good harbourside option!”

Harbourside Ocean Bar Grill
Reserve a table
Ranked #82 of 1,977 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Price range: $24 - $49
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Harbourside Ocean Bar Grill reopened in October 2013 after an extensive, six-month refurbishment program that has taken the iconic Ferry Building's hospitality to a new level. After buying Harbourside in 2012, Good Group committed to a major redesign of the restaurant, with the objective of keeping the traditions of Harbourside that were built up over many years but modernizing both them and the fit out. The result has been a cleverly designed premium seafood restaurant located in an up market environment that delivers a unique experience. A key part of the redesign was the enhancement of the renowned outdoor deck area and the addition of a new retractable roof. Through clever architecture from Salmond Reed coupled with Good Group's own design input and the support from the Historic Places Trust a retractable canopy has been developed that ensures customers can enjoy dining on the deck in all weather conditions. The refurbishment has also seen the linking up of Harbourside upstairs with Botswana Butchery downstairs, via a new internal staircase, creating a multi level precinct that gives customers the ability to dine or visit the bars at either venue and have the convenience of one bill.
Reviewed 5 December 2023

Sat overlooking the ferry terminal, fun to watch the boats coming and going. We had a seafood overload with the small platter, 6 extra oysters and seafood chowder and side of fries! So much food! Very good and the oysters were so buttery. Seafood chowder was one of the best I've had. great variety of seafood in the soup. Very good.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2023 via mobile

A lunch on our last day overlooking the harbour. The hit was the wonderful tomato salad. The fish and chips used Snapper and was very good. Friendly and efficient staff.

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank rac4nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2023 via mobile

Perfectly cooked whole snapper, lovely butter sauce. Fish pie was tender and delicious. The heirloom tomato salad side with buffalo cream was superb, as was the stone fruit creme brulee. We're a bit surprised at the lower reviews, we thought this was a top notch meal with competent, relaxed service. Absolutely recommend.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank 612ralfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2023

From the moment you arrive you know you are going to have a very special experience. Service perfect, food perfect, atmosphere perfect. Has to be one of my favorite places to dine. Highly recommended

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank noriyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 October 2023 via mobile

Party of 5. Table ready on arrival although we had some drinks in the bar first. All the menu was available and most chose ocean themed dishes. 5 empty plates at the end says the food was delicious and well cooked. My prawn cocktail starter followed by the game fish main was a standout but I’m sure my friends would say their dishes were the standout. Dinner was rounded out with a crème brûlée which could not be faulted. I’d recommend.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank Davieland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Harbourside Ocean Bar Grill also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Harbourside Ocean Bar Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.