We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After work drinks”

Doolan Brothers Newmarket
Ranked #981 of 2,468 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Doolan Brothers are Auckland’s quintessential Irish pubs. Stretched across four corners of the city’s suburbs, the Lynfield, Newmarket, Botany & Ellerslie locations ooze authenticity and tradition and as part of the wider group of 6 Irish Pubs, ‘Doolans’ offers Auckland’s premiere Irish pub, food and entertainment experience.
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

A colleague was leaving work and he was having some leaving drinks here. Great selection of beers - I had the Guinness which was poured perfectly. We had some garlic bread and fries to nibble on and these were delicious. I’ll be back!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Davieland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolansNewmarket, Operations Co-Ordinator at Doolan Brothers Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

So glad you had a good time with us! Thank you for leaving us some feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

We came here for dinner before heading into city for a show, waitresses were very friendly and helpful, meals were full of flavour but slightly small on scale! Beer was good and they’re in the Entertainment Book so you get a discount with voucher

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank nomadmattm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolansNewmarket, Operations Co-Ordinator at Doolan Brothers Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you for the review, your comments have been passed on to the staff :) We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Staff were pleasant showing us to a table for a meal. Everything seemed good to start. Drinks arrived, meal orders were taken being garlic bread to start, followed by a main.
Garlic bread arrived in good time.
When 2x of our party had finished their 1st drink (Coruna in the bottle), they ordered 2x more - they had to call a wait staff person over to the table to order it. The wait staff did not notice the bottles were empty.
And they waited..........
And they waited.........
Then they called the wait staff over, asking where their beer was. Wait staff went away, and never came back with the drinks.
So they waited..........
Eventually 1x of our group got up and went to the bar to get the 2x bottles.
By now we were also concerned our main course meal had not arrived - yet the table nearby who came in after us, had got food delivered to them.
So we waited.........
By now, we had had enough of this bad service. We got up and paid for the drinks consumed and left. Its a pub meal for goodness sake. We'd have waited nearly 3/4hr after ordering - and still no food.
We've been to this bar for a pub meal before and mostly its been OK, but tonight was unacceptably bad.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1981Dininggroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolansNewmarket, Operations Co-Ordinator at Doolan Brothers Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are very sorry you had this experience with us. Providing the best customer service possible is extremely important to us and we would like to get to the bottom of why this may have happened. If you could email me on emma@thebbc.co.nz with a day and time you came in it would be much appreciated. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

Quick lunch stopped here and order fish and chips. It wasn't take long for the meal to served on the table. Enjoy the crunchy battered fish with tasty tartare dip and nice beer (Orangeboom). Friendly staff and good service. Will be back next time to try other food and beer on the menu.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank YoutanaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

Avg beer, avg pub food, bonus with slight above avg serving staffs. It might be a good place for those who love to watch sports with a big crowd.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Denver L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolansNewmarket, Operations Co-Ordinator at Doolan Brothers Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Thank you for leaving us this review, if there is anything you feel we can improve on then please email me at emma@thebbc.co.nz.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Doolan Brothers Newmarket also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Doolan Brothers Newmarket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing