We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal”

Cafe Midnight Express
Ranked #15 of 2,272 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Taranaki
Level Contributor
132 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We did not want a huge meal and were pleased with our choice of a platter and dessert. The total bill came to $33 for the 3 of us. Excellent value for money.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank vomo2i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    107
    19
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
271 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Better than the movie”
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Had a light meal here en route to a visit to the casino across the road. Shared a large platter and calamari plus drinks for around $50.
Noisy and tables squashed together but atmosphere was generally good humoured, staff very helpful. Why it's named after a prison/druggie movie I have no idea.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_rua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaview, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“NOT A 5 STAR”
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

Went to his restaurant after reading the fantastic reviews on TA; I was expecting great things...sadly they did not materialise 5 of us ate there, they turned the air conditioning up so high we were shivering, had to ask a couple of times for it to be turned up.
The food was mediocre at best...2 of us had the chicken shush, which was tasteless, one had donee, again no flavour. The only good thing was the seafood basket, but even the calamari was cut so thin, you could barely taste it; lastly was the halloumi, it was sandwiched in between bread...I think!!
All in all it was a let down, but always need to try for ones self.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Michelle3568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
417 reviews
347 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!!!”
Reviewed 1 April 2017

A great little middle eastern restaurant!!
fab food!!!
wonderful service
great staff!!!
very busy!!
lots of atmosphere!!!

  • Visited March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brycee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable price”
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

My wife and I went for a stroll around the streets near our accomodation in Auckland, and found Cafe Midnight Express.
My wife is not a big eater, so she ordered an entree, but I had the $25 special, which consisted of an entree and a main.
We both had a drink, and we left, very well fed, all for $55.
The food was sensational. The staff were friendly and courteous.
Definitely worth a try.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Midnight Express also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Cafe Midnight Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing