We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mediterrainean Food In Auckland”

Cafe Midnight Express
Ranked #15 of 2,272 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best Mediterrainean Food In Auckland”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

This is the go to place for Mediterranean food. We went here a few times in the month of June and each time we went, we were met with consistency of good food. Every dish tasted good and was consistent between each visit. I would recommend the mezze plater and the midnight mix. However, I all dishes from the moussaka to the doner kebab. What made these dishes special was the taste if the meat. Dishes such as the midnight mix have really tasty selections of meat. The service of the restaurant was friendly. I would recommend this place to anyone that wants to try Mediterranean food in Auckland.

Visited June 2015
Helpful?
Thank Sohail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    107
    19
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
196 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Still good after 10 years”
Reviewed 28 August 2015

We first visited Midnight Express over ten years ago and loved the food so we returned two nights in a row. Being back in Auckland we thought we would see if it was still as good as we remember, we were not disappointed.
The service was attentive and very professional and the food was as good was tasty with rich favours. We are big fans of the Turkish/Middle Eastern food and while it might not be totally authentic it is good.

  • Visited August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kev_deb2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tasty Mediterranean cuisine”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile

Excellent Turkish and Mediterranean cuisine, though I am not sure it's really authentic. We went on a Sunday that offers a set menu of $25 per pax for entree+main or main+dessert. Disappointed (and found it a little ridiculous) they run out of chicken shish kebab and did not use pilaf rice despite stated on menu. That said, not a bad place to have Med/Middle Eastern cuisines.

Visited August 2015
Helpful?
Thank Lynette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangawhai, New Zealand
Level Contributor
184 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“My favourite for Turkish in Auckland.”
Reviewed 22 August 2015

The best Turkish food in Auckland, in my opinion. The staff are friendly, very helpful and knowledgeable about the menu. Prices are good and it's ideally located for a pre-show dinner at The Civic or Aotea Centre.

Visited August 2015
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimamaku, Northland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing Evening!!”
Reviewed 13 August 2015

6 of us had been to a workshop from 5.00pm - 8.30pm in Auckland. We had come from the Far North to get to Auckland. We decided to walk around the streets to look for somewhere to have a meal before traveling back to the Far North.
We looked at all the different restaurants along Victoria Street, reading the different menus, and the only restaurant that opened their door to us was Cafe Midnight Express, As soon as the waiter opened the door, he had a beautiful big smile on his face and welcomed us in. We sat down in the front part of the cafe, on a comfortable lounge seats.
The waiter was very accommodating, made sure we had our water, menu and we were served our drinks quickly.
We perused the menu, which was amazing. We chose what we wanted, then the waitress said we could have either mezze platters or dessert as well to go with our meal. We had the mezze platters which had Sigara Borek, falafel, dolmades, olives, feta, hummus & tzatziki(yoghurt, served with Turkish garlic bread and a Dips platter included. Oh wow it was absolutely a pleasure to nibble on.
When our dinners came out wow! There was more than enough to eat. The girls had Kofte which is a grilled mix of lamb & beef mince made into meat patties with a homemade red salsa & yoghurt served with fragrant rice pilaf, salad greens, tzatziki & hummus. Every bite was a taste bud heaven. Some of the boys had Lamb Shanks oven roasted herb shanks on mashed potatoes in a delicious sauce with Salad greens and the other was Grilled Chicken marinated chicken breast served on potato mash, hummus, tzatziki & salad.
It was such a shame we were not able to enjoy it more as we had to rush to get home for work the next day.
To the staff who took care of us, you were all amazing. we appreciated the service you gave us. We are definitely coming back and with more of our friends when we have got a whole evening instead of just 1 hour.
They also have a website: www.cafemidnightexpress.co.nz, check it out well worth it.

  • Visited August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Midnight Express also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Cafe Midnight Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing