We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The steak was tough”
Review of Angus Steak House

Angus Steak House
Ranked #82 of 2,224 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

I chose the Scotch fillet and while it was an ample piece of meat, there was just too much sinew which was very chewy and left me disappointed.
Overall, it was a good experience but there are better options around town, if you're a carnivore like me.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Neill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 173 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

If you like a good Steak and lots off it this is the place for you.

It's an uncomplicated formula where you select your steak, give it to the chief directly with your cooking and sauce instructions and your desire for Baked Potato or Chips. You select your salad from the salad bar and take it to your table where your steaks and a beer (or two) catch up quickly. There is time for two beers with these steaks as they are seriously large and juicy.

Wine selection isn't that great.

The staff are straight forward and very friendly when not busy but otherwise focused on the task of serving.

Better wine selection and less pressure to turn the table over would lift my score to a 4

Sometime get sticker shock when leaving. I think it's the shortness of the time there for the dollars paid as its not a quality issue.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank SelwynP20
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Angus is still the best Steakhouse you can go to.
Amazing meats with friendly service. What else can you ask for.
We picked the fillet and ordered it medium-well and it came out exactly the way we wanted it.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Wala69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

I used to own and run a Steak House and find that this place is very hard to beat.
Their meat is certainly the best around. Generous portions and top quality.
Their staff are fantastic.
Lilly, Tia and John the Chef are the best and are a credit to the owners of this business.
Love it!
If you want an exceptional Steak, don't go anywhere else!
Bazza.

Date of visit: August 2016
2  Thank barrykitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 August 2016

This place is pretty difficult to find the entrance for and the layout inside is kind of confusing. The staff are quite helpful though and they are well informed about the menu. The selection of meats available and types of cuts is very extensive, perfect for any meat eater. It is quite up there in price for the standard meal set but the meat is of a high quality. I chose the venison, it was MASSIVE and I had to give half to my friend to finish off. If you have a big appetite, THIS is the place!

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Monique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Angus Steak House also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Angus Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.