We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch”
Review of Parnell149

Parnell149
Ranked #15 of 2,468 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great lunch at Parnell149. The set lunch at $20 was a steal and it came with a free drink - beer or wine. The food was fantastic, service was great and the portion generous. Really, can't ask for more. The only problem was finding a parking space.

Overall, one of the best restaurants we visited in Auckland.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank linnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I recently had dinner at Parnell149 and had a great experience. The food was amazing and the staff was really friendly and helpful. We ordered the bread with feta and chilies, the lamb shoulder, green beans and the tiramisu. Each dish tasted great. Our favorite was the lamb shoulder...I think it was the best lamb that I have had anywhere. It was so tender and juicy and just melted in your mouth. I would highly recommend this restaurant if visiting Auckland.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank atmuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

My family and I had dinner here and the host was engaging, professional, friendly and witty. He made some great recommendations that we enjoyed immensely, especially the catch of the day that was succulent, palatable and moist. He even made some suggestions as to what tour attractions we should visit. Definitely will come back again in a future visit.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dark9ite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

We arrived in Auckland yesterday evening and were looking on TripAdvisor for a good place to eat some local NZ food at a reasonable price. Several previous reviews mentioned the excellent friendly service, the slow cooked shoulder of lamb (shared between two) and delicious local wine. We got all three of those things - absolutely fantastic food, c$100 for the two of us.

Tips:
- The two-person lamb was $62, so at $31pp is the same sort of price as, or slightly cheaper than, the steaks, and you get a whole shoulder. Great value and delicious: it melted off the bone.
- If you want to bring your own wine, corkage is $7.50 and there is a wine shop directly over the road (can’t miss it!)

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank T9760JNtoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018

Came for lunch with a group of friends, restaurant is clean and nice, staff were friendly and service was quick.

Food was excellent and they have a great lunch deal so it’s really worth it.

Would definitely recommend to others.

It was not full when we were there but I can imagine it would get quite loud in there when it does as the restaurant is not that big. We had a couple next to us make a comment about our noise levels when we were not that loud.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ArnekaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Parnell149 also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Parnell149? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing