We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, let down by poor service and overpriced. ”
Review of Cassia @ Skycity

Cassia @ Skycity
Ranked #24 of 1,978 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Cassia is a modern Indian restaurant by award winning Chef Sid Sahrawat. A la carte and tasting menus available.
Reviewed 18 February 2024 via mobile

Great food, poor service, and overpriced .

The indian food was very good. We shared a range of starters and small dishes, then finished with the chicken tikka. The toffee, honey combe and ice cream was average.

The service was very poor considering you are paying top prices. Lots of tables appeared to have the same issue with delays in getting in, waiting for drinks, food, and then queuing to pay at the end.

Date of visit: February 2024
1  Thank AucklandHibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2024

Our table was assigned a male waiter (middle aged, thick rimmed glasses) that made us feel extremely unwelcomed during our visit there. He was rude, curt, and was extremely unfriendly. We spent close to $400, the food was okay but had better indian food in Auckland.

Date of visit: December 2023
1  Thank JLo145
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 February 2024

Cassia is famous and has hype. It is pricey (be warned). On one date night, we decided it was time for us to give it a go (and hoping our wallets would say it was worth it.

We ordered Cured Salmon, Pistachio, Verjus; Green Chilli, Tandoori Chicken, Madras Sauce, Curry Leaf; Caramelised Beef Short Rib, Chettinad, Leek; Vegetable Bhaji and Rice. We weren't sure how big the portions were but the salmon that arrived first just set the tone on how delicious the food was going to be. Everything was amazing!

On each dish that was served, the waiter would explain the food, ingredients and how it was prepared. This made the experience jump an inch higher. Service was efficient and quick, and we got checked on.

We feel the prices are a smidge over-priced by $5 or so per dish. Understandable because they are on hotel premises. We would go there again.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank petesargearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2024

The ups: Food was well presented, clean environment and service was pretty standard. The desserts were very nice. The downs: the main dishes, although spicy, were tasteless and drinks were very short on their doses. I ordered a gin and tonic and was very disappointed with the amount of gin on it. Almost none. And so was everyone else’s on my table. 🤨. Very expensive and not all it says it is. Unfortunately.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2024

Other than a nice vibe/atmosphere this restaurant's food is disappointing.
Fine dining at it's worst

The goat cheese and corn fritter was a small ball...
Tandoori chicken was bland
I would rate a local indian takeaway better than this joint.

Spent $400 for 4 people. Complete waste of money

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brown-kiwi-boy-89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Cassia @ Skycity also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Cassia @ Skycity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.